Jonny Bairstow Out Of England Test Squad For New Zealand Series

Jonny Bairstow Out Of England Test Squad For New Zealand Series
Jonny Bairstow Out Of England Test Squad For New Zealand Series
Article top

England wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow was not picked into the squad for the two-test series in New Zealand but was included in the T20 squad for the tour that begins in November.

In the recently concluded Ashes, Bairstow scored 214 runs, averaging just below 24 in the five tests, with only one half-century to his name in 10 innings.

Jos Buttler is expected to be the wicket-keeper while Ollie Pope, who last played a Test in August 2018, is set for a back-up role.

Batting Jason Roy is another miss out after a difficult Ashes series. All-rounder Ben Stokes, Buttler, Mark Wood, Jofra Archer, Liam Plunkett, and Chris Woakes are set to play the T20 series while Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Matthew Parkinson, and Saqib Mahmood have been called up to the Test squad.

Mahmood and Parkinson are also in the T20 squad for the five-match series, along with wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Banton and Pat Brown while seamer James Anderson remains unavailable due to a calf injury.

“James Anderson was unavailable for selection in the Test squad as he continues his rehabilitation from a calf injury. The Lancashire seamer will work towards being available for the South Africa tour later this winter.,” – ECB stated.

Eoin Morgan, who led England to 50-over World Cup glory earlier this summer, will continue to captain the T20 side.

England begins the New Zealand tour on 1st November with the first of five T20 matches, followed by two tests that begin on Nov. 21 and Nov. 29 respectively.

England Test squad: Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Dominic Sibley, Joe Root (captain), Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Sam Curran, and Jack Leach

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, James Vince

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here