Jimmy Neesham Makes A Hilarious Comment On ICC’s New Rule

Jimmy Neesham Mutes A Few Words On Twitter
Jimmy Neesham Mutes A Few Words On Twitter
Article top

ICC faced severe criticism about the Super Over’s controversial rule during the Cricket World Cup 2019. The rule stated that if a Super Over ends in a tie, then the team that scores more boundaries throughout the match will be declared as the winner.

It was the same rule which played an important role in England lifting their maiden World Cup earlier this year. But many fans, along with New Zealand all-rounder Jimmy Neesham, shared their disappointment as Kiwis lost the final match owing to this rule.

ICC has now decided to remove the boundary count rule at the board meeting in Dubai on Monday. Henceforth, if a knockout match of either of the 50-over World Cup or the T20I World Cup witnesses a tied Super Over, then the teams will play another Super Over. This process will continue until a clear winner emerges.

ICC, in its release, said – “Following on from a recommendation from the ICC Cricket Committee, the Chief Executives’ Committee agreed that the use of the Super Over as a way to decide results at ICC events will be retained. Both the Cricket Committee and CEC agreed it was an exciting and engaging conclusion to the game and will remain in place covering all games at both ODI and T20I World Cups.”

Neesham posted a hilarious tweet regarding the new rule.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here