IPL Match Winners Earn Maiden India Call Ups Against England For T20

India vs England For T20I

On Saturday, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Rahul Tewatia earned their maiden India call-up for next month’s five-match India vs England For T20I. As the selectors rewarded them for their stupendous performances in the IPL.

IPL Performances Earned Trio Maiden Call Ups For Team India

Years and years of hardwork and having one of the best IPL campaign last year, it’s finally a reward for Suryakumar Yadav to get a call up for India vs England T20I series. Questions were raised when Suryakumar Yadav did not make the team for the series in Australia but his long wait has finally ended. The 30-year-old has averaged 30 or more in each of the last three IPL seasons, with 2020 his best campaign yet. He averaged 40 with a strike-rate of 145

Ishan Kishan, a 22-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman, has long been one of the most highly rated young batsmen in the country. In Mumbai Indians’ title-winning campaign, he notched 516 runs at an average of 57.33 and a strike-rate of 145.76. No player in the competition averaged more, with a minimum of 250 runs.

Tewatia made a habit of playing match-changing hands in all three departments, with the most notable coming against Kings XI Punjab After hitting 5 sixes in an over. There are several other changes to the squad that beat Australia 2-1. Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have all been left out, with Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel and Bhuvneshwar Kumar all recalled.

Mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy, who missed the Australia series due to an injury, has also been named in the team. Left-arm pacer T Natarajan has expectedly retained his place following an impressive debut series in Australia. Both Kishan and Pant have been named as wicketkeepers, so it remains to be seen if K L Rahul will continue to keep the wickets. All five games will be played in Ahmedabad.

India squad for England T20Is:  Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here