IPL: Best Retired XI Of All-Time

best retired all-time XI of IPL
best retired all-time XI of IPL
Article top

The Indian Premier League (IPL) enters its 14th edition in 2021. The tournament has featured many legends over the course of 13 seasons. These stalwarts have contributed handsomely not just to their respective teams but have also added value to the tournament. There have been many stars who are no longer part of the IPL and have settled into retirement. We at StumpsandBails present to you the best retired IPL XI of all-time.

#1 Shane Watson

Shane Watson is a two-time (2008 and 2013) Most Valuable Player (MVP) award winner in the IPL. He won even Chennai Super Kings the 2018 IPL final all on his own. Watson for all his contribution to the IPL as an all-rounder remains grossly underrated.

#2 Parthiv Patel

Parthiv Patel was a pocket-sized powerhouse who got his team to flyers most often than not. He was a key contributor in franchises like CSK, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Mumbai Indians. Patel was also a safe keeper behind the stumps.

#3 Gautam Gambhir (C)

Gautam Gambhir transformed Kolkata Knight Riders into a champion side. It was under his leadership that KKR managed to win 2 titles (2012 and 2014) in 3 years. He can walk into this team purely on basis of his leadership skills alone. But Gambhir was more than a capable IPL batsman who scored 4217 runs at an average of 31.01.

#4 Michael Hussey

Mr Cricket, Michael Hussey was an integral part of the CSK setup. Hussey smashed 733 runs in the 2013 IPL edition thereby winning the orange cap in the process. He was the first centurion (2008) for CSK in the IPL. Hussey brings immense value to any team he is part of.

#5 Subramaniam Badrinath

Subramaniam Badrinath was CSK’s crisis man. He has often bailed out CSK from precarious situations. Badrinath played 95 IPL games scoring 1441 runs at an average of 30.66. He was one of CSK’s vital cogs during their successive IPL triumphs (2010 and 2011)

#6 Jean-Paul Duminy

Jean-Paul Duminy was a diminutive left-hander who plied his trade mainly for the Delhi franchise. Duminy boasts of a stellar IPL record. He scored 2029 runs in 83 IPL games at an average of 39.78. Duminy was an effective middle-order batsman.

#7 Yusuf Pathan

Yusuf Pathan was one of the cleanest strikers of the cricket ball. Pathan’s strike rate of 143 in 154 IPL innings is right up there with the very best. He scored a century off 37 balls against MI while playing for RR. He won championship titles with RR (2008) and KKR (2012 and 2014).

#8 Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble had a brief but impactful IPL career. Kumble led RCB to the knockout stages twice successively in 2009 and 2010. He picked up 45 wickets in 42 games. His best returns were 5 wickets for 3 runs against RR while playing for RCB. Kumble’s economy rate was a brilliant 6.58.

#9 Zaheer Khan

Zaheer Khan was a canny bowler who brought all his experience into play. He represented RCB, MI, and DC during his playing days. Khan’s numbers are up there with the very best. He picked up 102 wickets at an average of 27.27. His strike rate of 21.57 stands out among pacers.

#10 RP Singh

Rudra Pratap Singh spearheaded Deccan Charger’s pace attack when they were crowned champions in 2009. He won the purple cap in 2009 picking up 23 wickets. Singh’s overall IPL bowling strike rate was a brilliant 19.72.

#11 Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga is an IPL G.O.A.T (greatest of all time). Malinga remains the highest wicket-taker (170) in the league even though he retired after the 2019 season. He was MI’s greatest asset in their 4 title-winning campaigns (2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019).

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here