IPL: 5 Top Players Who Have Played 10 Seasons But Have Not Won The IPL Yet

Players Who Have Not Won An IPL Yet Despite Playing 10 Seasons
players who have not won an IPL yet despite playing 10 seasons
Article top

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is arguably the best domestic tournament in the world. It is a perfect mix of youth, experience, talent, and entertainment. The IPL trophy is a coveted silverware. There have been 3 teams who have held the trophy more than once. Hyderabad franchise won it in 2009 (Deccan Chargers) and once in 2016 (Sunrisers Hyderabad). Mumbai Indians lead the race with 5 IPL trophies, followed by Chennai Super Kings with 3 titles. Kolkata Knight Riders complete the set with 2 championships. Rajasthan Royals were the inaugural winners.  Stay with us to know about Players Who Have Not Won An IPL Yet Despite Playing 10 Seasons

The IPL trophy has deserted 3 teams so far. The Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, and Punjab Kings are yet to win an IPL. Similarly, there are quite a few players who have played the IPL for quite some time but they haven’t gotten a chance to lift the IPL.

StumpsandBails looks at 5 Players Who Have Not Won An IPL Yet Despite Playing 10 Seasons

#5 Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane is one of the most underrated IPL T20 openers. He boasts of a steady record opening the innings for his franchises. Rahane has tapered off a bit in the last couple of seasons. But there is not an iota of doubt regarding Rahane’s class as a batsman. He started his career with MI in 2008 and represented them for 2 seasons. Rahane played just 10 games across these 2 seasons.

RR bought Rahane in 2010 and since then his career has changed for the better. Rahane was RR’s prime batsman. His seminal IPL year was in 2015 wherein he averaged a brilliant 49 and struck at 130.75. He amassed more than 500 runs twice in the 13 completed seasons. Yet Rahane has never had the luck of lifting the IPL once. He has represented 4 IPL teams: MI (2008-09), RR (2010-15, 2018-19), RPS (2016-17), and DC (2020-21*) but the best he could finish with has been the runners-up medal.

#4 Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra is an IPL G.O.A.T. He is the second-highest wicket-taker (166) in IPL history. Mishra is just 5 wickets away from taking over Lasith Malinga. But unlike Malinga who has 4 IPL titles to his credit, Mishra has none. He started his career with Delhi and was their lead spinner for 3 seasons.

Mishra shifted base to Hyderabad in the 2011 season. He represented them in 2011 and 2012. SRH bought him in 2013 and he played there for a couple of seasons. Delhi again acquired Mishra in 2015 and he continues to be an integral part of the franchise. But an IPL winner’s tag still beckons the veteran.

#3 Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle is arguably the best batsman of the IPL. He singlehandedly revitalised RCB in 2011 and took them to the finals. Gayle is a two-time orange cap winner. He won the MVP award in 2011. Gayle is just 50 short of the 5000 run mark in the IPL. His runs have come at 149.45 and an incredible average of 40.24.

He holds the record for scoring the maximum sixes (357) in the league. But yet an IPL title has deserted the big man. He has plied his trade for 3 IPL teams but none of them managed to win the trophy when he played for them.

#2 AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers is possibly the unluckiest cricketer ever. He is arguably the most talented player to have never won a major silverware in his life. ABD started his IPL career with Delhi (2008-10). Delhi were knocked out twice in the semi-finals in two consecutive seasons (2008 & 2009). But ABD came into his own with RCB. He smashed every possible record, scored against every possible team.

ABD won games RCB ideally didn’t have any business winning. He has been with RCB for 11 seasons running scoring a mountain of runs (5056) at an unbelievable consistency (average-40.77 and strike rate-152.38). But the legend is yet to win an IPL. 

#1 Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, RCB, and an IPL trophy is a never-ending love triangle. He is the only player to have played 14 IPL seasons for a single franchise. Kohli is not just RCB’s best player he is their biggest brand too. RCB invested in Kohli in 2008 when they picked him from the U-19 batch. He was the only player to be retained by RCB in 2011.

Kohli continued to repay the faith in every single season showing exemplary commitment. He is the leading run-getter in the league. Kohli is the only batsman in IPL history to have crossed the 6000 run mark. He has been incredibly consistent (37.97) yet has never managed to lead his side to an IPL title win yet. Will 2021 be his year?

Also read: Sohaib Masood Claims David Warner Wouldn’t Have Played Cricket If He Was In Pakistan

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here