IPL: 5 Players Who Won The Emerging Player Award But Couldn’t Shine Later

Emerging Player Award Winners In IPL
emerging players who couldnt' shine later
Article top

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a platform that provides opportunities for youngsters. These young talents rub shoulders with cricketing legends during the tournament. There have been plenty of youngsters who have gone on to represent their country with distinction. Stay with us know about Emerging Player Award Winners In IPL

The likes of David Warner, Ravindra Jadeja are all IPL products. Every year the IPL rewards the best performing youngster in the league with the ‘Emerging Player Award’. There have been few winners who couldn’t really step onto a higher plane post winning the award.

StumpsandBails looks at 5 players who couldn’t shine greatly post winning the Emerging Player Award Winners In IPL award:

#5 Shreevats Goswami (2008)

Shreevats Goswami was the first winner of the award in 2008. He was one of the only silver linings for RCB that season. Goswami gave a good account of himself that season. He scored 293 runs and affected 26 dismissals. Goswami was mighty effective with the gloves in the season. But unfortunately, he couldn’t step on that promise since then.

#4 Saurabh Tiwary (2010)

Saurabh Tiwary was one of the 3 key players MI bought in 2010. He smashed 419 runs at an average of 29.92. His strike rate of 135.59 was mighty impressive too. He made it into the Indian team based on this performance. But he couldn’t do much of note post this season. Tiwary proved to be just a single-season wonder.

#3 Basil Thampi (2017)

Basil Thampi was a revelation in IPL 2017. He bowled with raw pace and troubled batsmen with pinpoint Yorkers. Thampi sparkled brightly in a dull season for Gujarat Lions. He was picked to play for India too but he flattered to deceive on his debut. Thampi since then has struggled even to get a place in the playing XI.

Also read: When Asked “His Relationship Status With Actress Nimrat Kaur”, India Coach Ravi Shastri Replies

#2 Iqbal Abdulla (2011)

Iqbal Abdulla was one of KKR’s key players in 2011. His slow left-arm strangled oppositions. His unrelenting accuracy on Kolkata’s sluggish wicket helped him largely. But Abdulla was soon found out by oppositions and he couldn’t make much of an impact since then.

#1 Mandeep Singh (2012)

Mandeep Singh had a breakthrough IPL in 2012. He crossed the 400 runs barrier that season. Singh along with Adam Gilchrist combined beautifully to provide KXIP with wonderful starts. He won the emerging Player’ that season but he couldn’t build on that since then. Singh is one of the what-if stories of the IPL.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here