IPL 2022: Shreyas Iyer Appointed As KKR’s New Captain

Who Is The Captain Of KKR In 2022?
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have named Shreyas Iyer as their skipper for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 season. Iyer had chosen to participate in the big auction, as he was among the most qualified leadership candidates available. Many teams pursued him as anticipated, and the bidding war was ultimately won by the KKR, who paid a stunning Rs 12.25 cr to get his services. Here you can know Who Is The Captain Of KKR In 2022?

Who Is The Captain Of KKR In 2022?

It seemed clear at that stage that he would be made leader for the team. Shreyas Iyer has a strong IPL leadership record, having captained the Delhi Capitals for more than 2 seasons. Iyer captained the team to the IPL playoffs in 2019 and 2020 after taking over from Gautam Gambhir in the second half of the season. However, in 2020, DC advanced to the finals only to be defeated by the Mumbai Indians (MI).

Furthermore, KKR has decided to split with Eoin Morgan, who drove them to a spectacular final appearance the previous season. However, England’s player was unable to make runs with the bat during the season, and he went unsold at the bidding.

Shreyas Iyer is KKR’s 6th skipper in the IPL era. Previous captains have included Sourav Ganguly, Brendon McCullum, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik & Eoin Morgan. Following Gambhir’s brilliant captaincy, the team won the prestigious IPL title twice, in 2012 and 2014. Nonetheless, they came within a thin margin of winning the title in the previous campaign and will be hoping to do so again under new captain Shreyas Iyer.

In terms of the bidding process, KKR made several wise purchases, including Pat Cummins, Alex Hales, Nitish Rana amongst many others. Iyer is presently a member of India’s T20I team for a 3-match series versus the West Indies. He’ll most likely be on action day, as he’s anticipated to make the Playing XI at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens.


Matched Content Ad