IPL 2022 Retention: Retained Players List, Salaries And Purse Remaining

IPL 2022
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

As the time for submitting the player retention for IPL 2022 summary concluded on Tuesday, the 8 current Indian Premier League (IPL) teams retained a maximum of 27 players (30th November). However there are some unexpected retentions, several well-known individuals have been shockingly dropped by their respective teams for a number of reasons.

With such a big auction going to take place just before the 2022 edition, each side may preserve a maximum of 4 players, with only 2 of them being foreigners. Whereas many teams used all of the available retention cards, others chose to store cash for the auction process, which is supposed to occur in late December. However, salaries are decided by the number of players retained by each club.

Franchises that retained all 4 members paid INR 42 crore of the overall INR 90 crore net spend. In this scenario, the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th-retained individuals earned INR 16, 12, 8, and 6 crores, accordingly. Teams that secured 3 players paid INR 33 crore, with the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd-retained player having 15, 11, and 7 crores, accordingly.


In the scenario of 2 capped retentions, the 1st and 2nd retained players would have received INR 14 and 10 respectively. Interestingly, the Punjab Kings were the only team to keep 2 players, Mayank Agarwal as well as Arshdeep Singh. The latter, on the other hand, earned INR 4 crore because he is an uncapped player.

Even though none of the teams retained a player, the fortunate player would have received INR 14 crore if any of the teams had chosen to do so. Furthermore, a few franchisees have a little variation in payment and deduction amounts. This appears to be owing to salary decreases experienced by a few players.

Retentions made by all 8 existing IPL teams:


  1. Ravindra Jadeja (16 cr.)
  2. MS Dhoni (12 cr.)
  3. Moeen Ali (8 cr.)
  4. Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 cr.)


  1. Virat Kohli (15 cr.)
  2. Glenn Maxwell (11 cr.)
  3. Mohammed Siraj (7 cr.)


  1. Rohit Sharma (16 cr.)
  2. Jasprit Bumrah (12 cr.)
  3. Suryakumar Yadav(8 cr.)
  4. Kieron Pollard (6 cr.)


  1. Rishabh Pant (16 cr.)
  2. Axar Patel (9 cr., 12 cr. to be deducted from purse)
  3. Prithvi Shaw (7.5 cr., 8 cr. to be deducted from purse)
  4. Anrich Nortje (6.5 cr.)


  1. Andre Russell (12 cr., 16 cr. to be deducted from purse)
  2. Varun Chakravarthy (8 cr., 12 cr. to be deducted from purse)
  3. Venkatesh Iyer (8 cr.)
  4. Sunil Narine (6 cr.)


  1. Kane Williamson (14 cr.)
  2. Abdul Samad (4 cr.)
  3. Umran Malik (4 cr.)


  1. Sanju Samson (14 cr.)
  2. Jos Buttler (10 cr.)
  3. Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 cr.)


  1. Mayank Agarwal (12 cr., 14 cr. to be deducted from purse)
  2. Arshdeep Singh (4 cr.)

Purse Remaining

DC: INR 47.5 crore

CSK: INR 48 crore

RCB: INR 57 crore

KKR: INR 48 crore

MI: INR 48 crore

PBKS: INR 72 crore

RR: INR 62 crore

SRH: INR 68 crore

Matched Content Ad