IPL 2022: ‘Clinical’ LSG Bowlers Conquer KKR To Take The Top Spot

LSG vs KKR Match Highlights
Image Source: Stumpsandbails
Article top

LSG vs KKR Match Highlights:

As the 15th season of the Indian T20 League progresses towards the finish line, each team is doing its hardest to secure a comfortable place in the standings in order to qualify for the playoffs and proceed to the finals.

The most recent game between Lucknow Super Giants and Kolkata Knight Riders played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, it was one of the most dramatic contests, as LSG defeated KKR by 75 runs to take the top spot with an impressive run rate, big props to their outstanding bowling performance.

Upon electing to bowl first, Kolkata Knight Riders made a significant breakthrough in the first over with a run-out as LSG skipper KL Rahul went for a golden duck. For the 2nd wicket, Quinton de Kock and Deepak Hooda displayed a masterful effort with the angled bat. The duo had a 73-run partnership until de Kock was dismissed for 50 off 29 balls by Sunil Narine. Thereafter Hooda kept the momentum by pairing with Krunal Pandya for 34 run partnership.


Deepak Hooda 41(27) and Krunal Pandya 25 (27) were dismissed by the KKR all-rounder Andre Russell, which came as another big bow for LSG. Marcus Stoinis accelerated the scoreboard with three sixes and one four with a quickfire knock. Eventually, Shivam Mavi caught him at 14 balls and 28 runs. Ayush Badoni, with an unbeaten knock of 18 balls and 15 runs, and Jason Holder, with a brilliant knock of 4 balls and 13 runs, helped KKR post a respectable target of 177 after losing 7 wickets.

KKR’s pursuit of the good target got off to a poor start as they surrendered three wickets consecutively in the power play. The top order including Baba Indrajith, Aaron Finch, skipper Shreyas Iyer, and Nitish Rana scored just 25 runs. It called attention to the fact that LSG bowling is outstanding and consistent. KKR batsmen utterly failed due to their inability to build even minor partnerships between the wickets.


‘Player Of The Match’ Awarded To Avesh Khan

Except for Andre Russell, whose 19-ball 45 runs with 5 sixes and 3 fours gave him the confidence to pursue a respectable total, however, lacked the partnership for the wicket with Rinku Singh and Anukul Roy, who disappointed with 6 and 0 respectively. Sunil Narine scored 22 runs off 12 balls but was unable to sustain the momentum. Russell’s muscular power was in vain, as the powerhouse batter was unable to deny Avesh Khan from bagging three wickets. KKR lacked the necessary batsmanship to survive all 20 overs.

The steadiness of the LSG bowling order was quite outstanding, as no bowler went wicketless, resulting in a comfortable win. Avesh Khan and Jason Holder with 3 wicket haul while Mohsin Khan, Chameera, and Ravi Bishnoi with one wicket apiece restricted KKR to 101 runs in 14.3 overs for a clinical victory.

Matched Content Ad