IPL 2022: Kuldeep’s Prowess Lead KKR To Fifth Consecutive Defeat

KKR vs DC Highlights
Article top

KKR vs DC Highlights The 41st match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 has been held at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium between the Delhi Capitals and the Kolkata Knight Riders. DC showcased a spirited comeback to overcome KKR by four wickets with six balls left in spare.

Despite winning the toss, DC chooses to bowl first, which proved to be a strategic investment by Rishabh Pant’s side. KKR got off to a slow start to the innings, surrendering the opening batsmen, Aaron Finch (3) and Venkatesh Iyer (6)- the openers struggled to confront the DC bowlers even just to hit double figures, as both batsmen fell short of Chetan Sakariya and Axar Patel, respectively, within the powerplay.

However, KKR skipper Shreyas Iyer arrived at no. 3 and remained firm for the team, but he has lacked much-needed assistance in the batting order to develop a crucial partnership. As,  Kuldeep Yadav came to attack for DC, dismissing Kolkata keeper-batter Baba Indrajith (6 off 8 balls) and then Sunil Narine for a golden duck. KKR lost four wickets, leaving the batsmen with a disappointing total.

Shreyas Iyer’s confidence has been strengthened, as Nitish Rana has come out in favor of the skipper in order to develop a crucial wicket-to-wicket partnership. The duo appeared to be a challenge for the Delhi side, as they punished the balls to register a respectable total for their opponents. Meanwhile, Pant changed the tactics to bring in Kuldeep Yadav to have a much-needed breakthrough for the team, as Shreyas Iyer (42 off 37 balls) is scooped up behind the stumps.


Nitish Rana carried the momentum to build the innings for the team, but here comes Kuldeep to dispatch Andre Russell to the pavilion for a golden duck, driving KKR’s aspirations into a downturn. Rinku Singh was the last hitter remaining to contribute to the scoreboard, slamming 23 runs in 16 balls, including three fours. Mustafizur Rahman of DC, bowled the last over of the innings, sacked Rana (57 off 34 balls), Rinku (23), and Tim Southee with no runs to restrict the innings to a respectable 147 as the mark.

Kuldeep Yadav from DC bowling excelled with a four-wicket haul, and Mustafizur limited the innings with three wickets in the penultimate over. With one wicket each, Chetan Sakariya and Axar appeared to be steady for Delhi.


In pursuit of a fair total, DC had a sluggish start to the batting, with Umesh Yadav making a key breakthrough by removing opening hitter Prithvi Shaw with the very first delivery of the innings. Meanwhile, David Warner, the in-form batsman, and Mitchell Marsh put up a 17-run stand before Marsh was bowled by Harshit Rana after hitting 13 runs in 7 balls. Warner kept the momentum going, solidifying the innings to surpass the run mark.

Meanwhile, Umesh returned to the attack to take his 2nd wicket of the game, while Warner settled down for 42 off 26 balls. Following that, Lalit Yadav was bowled by Narine for 22 from 29 balls. DC skipper Rishabh Pant failed to maintain his aggression in the match, dropping as the third victim to Umesh.

KKR, on the other hand, has got the upper hand over the DC batsmen with 5 wickets in hand. But then came Rovman Powell, who continued his amazing performance, finishing with back-to-back sixers against the RR in the last match. With three sixes and one four and a strike rate of 206.25, he hit an unbeaten 16-ball 33 runs, while Axar Patel contributed a much-needed 24 runs off 17 balls before being removed for a run-out.

However, DC dominated from both departments to demolish KKR by 4 wickets, despite the fact that KKR’s batsmen had a dreadful day. As a result, they suffered their fifth consecutive defeat, which had an effect on the points table.


Matched Content Ad