IPL 2022: BCCI Announces The Successful Bidders For 2 New Teams

BCCI Probes CVC Capital Partners Ties With Betting Companies,
Image Source: Twitter.com

The two new IPL teams have been confirmed. The league and the BCCI both have announced that the cities of Lucknow and Ahmedabad would now have their own IPL franchises. After a heated bidding battle and much speculation, supporters in both cities can finally cheer because they now have an IPL franchise. In this article we have discussed about IPL New Teams Auction HIGHLIGHTS.

IPL New Teams Auction HIGHLIGHTS

The entire day was spent with experts disclosing something surprising at irregular intervals. However, it has been revealed that the RPSG group owned the Lucknow unit, whereas CVC Capital, a foreign investor, purchased the Ahmedabad unit. Both of the new teams have 2 world-class international stadiums in existence, and then we will shortly see them compete at these venues.

With a maximum of 1,32,000, Ahmedabad’s new Motera stadium is the biggest cricket venue in the world, whereas Lucknow’s Ekana International Cricket Stadium can host up to 50,000 spectators. For INR 7090 crores in the auction, the RPSG Group won the bidding for Lucknow city.

RPSG Group owns Lucknow and CVC Capital owns Ahmedabad: IPL 2022 Auctions

On the other hand, for INR 5166 crores CVC Capital won Ahmedabad in the bidding. Considering Gujarat’s cricket tradition and the city’s largest stadium, there were a few other competitors who expressed interest in Ahmedabad. Yet, CVC Capital’s top bid was just marginally much more than Adani Group’s.


There were top contenders for the city team, although it is unclear how much their attempt fell short at this time. Aside from the Adani group, 7(10 total) parties expressed interest. The Glazers family, who control Manchester United and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, had also entered the bid to own a franchise but fell just short.

Bollywood superstars Ranveer Singh and Deepika Padukone made bids. In terms of cities, there was curiosity exhibited in Cuttack, Indore, Guwahati, and Dharamsala, but none of the offers could compete with what the RPSG group and CVC capital put in. These two sides will compete in the 2022 season, however, their actual names have yet to be disclosed.

Also read: Winning Against IND Is Absolutely Crucial For PAK: Shoaib Akhtar

Matched Content Ad