India’s ODI Tour Of New Zealand Has Been Postponed Till 2022

India’s ODI Tour Of New Zealand
Image Source:

An NZC spokesperson confirmed that India’s ODI tour of New Zealand, which was slated to take place this summer, has been postponed to 2022.  According to the ICC’s Future Tour Program, Virat Kohli and his teammates were scheduled to play 3 one-day internationals versus the Black Caps as a portion of the Super League to qualify for the 2023 World Cup on the subcontinent.

Furthermore, it has been discovered that the visit will take place after the completion of the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia later next year. After the 2021 T20 World Cup, the Netherlands, South Africa, and Bangladesh will be the only 3 touring teams in New Zealand. Following that, from 04th March to 03rd April, New Zealand will host the Women’s World Cup.

The New Zealand government issued the updated MIQ (managed isolation and quarantine) assignments, followed by the tours which were scheduled.

We’ve got to be mindful of players coming back from a long winter: NZC chief

The Kiwis have a very busy schedule this year. Following their T20I series in Bangladesh, a handful of their players will compete in the IPL 2021, which will begin on 19th September. Following the World Cup, New Zealand will play 2 Tests and 3 Twenty20 Internationals on Indian soil.

It means they’ll be able to return home in December after a 14-day mandatory quarantine. “We’ve got to be mindful of players coming back from a long winter and we’ve got to give them time at home as well,” David White, the NZC chief executive said.

In terms of the Indian players, they recently competed in a Test tour of England. Due to COVID-19 worries in the Indian camp, after a few of their staff members got the virus, the final game at Old Trafford in Manchester had to be postponed indefinitely.

Following that, the BCCI stated that players flying from the UK to the UAE would be subjected to a 6-day quarantine period. The UAE will host the 2nd leg of the IPL in 2021, which will begin on 19th September.