Prithvi Shaw and KS Bharath named in the India T20I & ODI Squad for Mastercard New Zealand Tour of India 2023

Indias ODI & T20I squad for New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

India’s ODI & T20I squad for New Zealand series 2023

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

India’s ODI & T20I squad for New Zealand: India’s teams have been selected by the All-India Senior Selection Committee for the forthcoming Mastercard New Zealand Tour of India, which will include three ODIs and three T20Is.

The main aspect is Prithvi Shaw’s comeback in T20s. Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, and Sanju Samson are still not well enough to join the squad, though. The T20 squad continues to be without Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and KL Rahul. 

KL Rahul is not included in the squad because he is getting married and that’s the reason he is not included in the squad.

NO Big Names in T20I Series 

In the shortest form, Hardik Pandya will continue to captain the team in the absence of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. From the Sri Lanka series, Shivam Mavi, Rahul Tripathi, Mukesh Kumar, and Jitesh Sharma were kept.

In the T20 team, Sundar returns after a layoff due to injury, as Washington Sundar is also another important player. After almost a year, all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed is back into the team for the ODI series. And for the 50-over format series, wicketkeeper K.S. Bharat included into the squad.

Schedule of the New Zealand Tour of India 

  1. 18th (January) 1st ODI, in Hyderabad
  2. 21st (January) 2nd ODI, in Raipur
  3. 24th (January) 3rd ODI, in Indore
  1. 27th (January) 1st T20I, in Ranchi
  2. 29th(January) 2nd T20I, in Lucknow
  3. 1st (January) 3rd T20I, in Ahmedabad

After this ODI and T20 series against New Zealand, India will change their focus towards the Border Gavaskar Trophy, where the World Test Championship final place is at stake. The test series against Australia will decide whether India will play the final of WTC 2023. The Test series will start on 9 Feb and will go on till 22 March. 

A busy schedule is ahead of the Indian team and it will be fun to watch how the selection committee manages the schedule with top players in and around the squad.

India’s ODI squad to face New Zealand:

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (WK), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Washington Sundar, KS Bharat (WK), Shahbaz Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohd. Shami, Umran Malik, Mohd. Siraj.

India’s T20I squad to face New Zealand:

Hardik Pandya (C), Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (WK), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar, Prithvi Shaw, Umran Malik.

Matched Content Ad