India’s journey after Champions Trophy 2013 win

India's journey after Champions Trophy 2013 win
Article top

India’s journey after Champions Trophy 2013 win, How Has Team India Performed In ICC Knockout Games Since 2013 Champions Trophy Win?, India’s journey after champions trophy 2013 win list

India’s journey after Champions Trophy 2013 win

A Post-Champions Trophy 2013 Chronicle

On June 23rd, 2013, India emerged victorious in the ICC Champions Trophy, under the captaincy of M.S. Dhoni, marking a significant triumph in international cricket. However, the journey that unfolded for the Indian cricket team after this memorable win was both challenging and eventful. 

The year 2013 marked a historic moment for Indian cricket. However, the post-Champions Trophy period was not without its share of challenges, especially in major ICC events. After the Champions Trophy triumph, India failed to succeed in almost every ICC event and yet again the drought continued with the 2023 ODI World Cup title as Australia defeated India in the final.

Download: Stumpsandbails Fantasy Cricket App 

So, let’s take a look at India’s Journey in ICC events after the 2013 Champions Trophy Victory

  • ICC T20 World Cup 2014: Lost in the Final 

Despite going undefeated into the 2014 T20 World Cup final at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium, India lost by six wickets against Sri Lanka. This was the start of India’s failure, where India went on to miss out on a major trophy in the final stages of the tournaments.

  • ICC ODI World Cup 2015: Got Chocked against Australia 

India was eliminated from the event in the semi-final after failing to overcome the host. India was the reigning champions, but their loss was shocking because they could not hold the championship.

  • ICC T20 World Cup 2016: Yet Another Semi-final Defeat

Virat Kohli, the new captain of India, led the squad during this tournament. He was the star of the show and stunned the West Indies in the semifinals with a brilliant knock. However, it proved insufficient against a highly skilled West Indies team, who ultimately emerged as the winners.

  • Champions Trophy 2017: The Slip in Defending the Title

Once again as defending champions, India entered the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy with high expectations. However, their journey came to an abrupt end in the final against Pakistan. 

  • ICC World Cup 2019: A Semi-Final Heartbreak:

After a dominating group stage performance, India faced New Zealand in the semi-final. In a rain-affected match, India fell short in the chase, ending their World Cup campaign. The loss left fans disheartened, as the team was widely regarded as one of the favorites to lift the trophy that year.

  • ICC World T20 World Cup 2020: A Near Miss

The ICC World Twenty20 2020, was delayed due to the global pandemic and was held in 2021, where we witnessed India reaching the final. Here once again India faltered in the final against Australia, losing the title yet again. 

  • ICC World Test Championship 2021: Format changed but results remained the same 

The WTC was introduced by the ICC to promote Test cricket, and in the end, it was India and New Zealand who reached the finals of 2021. After two years of hard work, India slipped yet again when it mattered the most and lost to the Kiwis.

  • ICC World T20 World Cup 2022: Another Halt to India’s Trophy wait 

India played some EXCEPTIONAL cricket in the league stage, But England put a halt to India’s march thus making India wait for an ICC trophy for next time.

The defeats added to the growing narrative of India’s struggles to convert promising campaigns into championship victories.

  • ICC World Test Championship 2022: Failed for the Second time 

This time again India qualified for the finals and was up against Australia, where the faith turned out to be the same as the mighty Australian’s killed India’s hope of winning a major title after defeating India in the finals of WTC23.

  • ICC ODI World Cup 2023: India’s hunt for a Major trophy Continues

In 2023 the ICC trophy wait continues as Australia became the six-time ODI World Cup Champions after defeating India in the final. After failing in all previous ICC events this time around India yet again failed. Rohit Sharma missed on becoming the third Indian captain to lift the ICC ODI World Cup after Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni.

India was unbeaten in the whole campaign and it was the final match which spoiled all the dreams of Indian fans as Australia defeated India in the final to become six-time World Cup champions.

Follow Stumps and Bails for frequent cricket predictions

Sadly India’s drought of an ICC trophy continues…….

Matched Content Ad