Indian Players To Feature In BPL Draft

Indian Players In BPL Draft
Indian Players In BPL Draft

Bangladesh’s Premier League, also known as BPL, consists of seven franchise cricket teams. It is the professional T20 cricket league in Bangladesh. League will be managed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). The seventh season of BPL, which is going to start from 11th December 2019, will end on 16th January.

In order to gain more attention, BCB is planning to add Indian players to their league. Bangladesh Cricket Board’s management is hoping to attract Indian cricketers to BPL.

However, the cricket board of India won’t allow Indian players to participate in T20 leagues across the world except for the IPL (Indian Premier League).

After BCB took over the control of BPL, they are planning to raise the standards of the tournament by including Indian cricketers.

On Saturday, Nazmul Hassan president of Bangladesh cricket board (BCB) said, “We proposed to bring in Indian players who are outside the contract of their board. They can play in principle, I am not sure if we will get them in this BPL, but hopefully, we will get them in the future. Will try for them in this BPL too.”

The two former cricketers of India, Irfan Pathan and Harbhajan Singh, have registered their names in CPL ( Caribbean Premier League ) but have withdrawn their names from CPL because they are active players of IPL and haven’t yet announced their retirement from Indian cricket.

On the other hand, Manpreet Gony and Yuvraj Singh have successfully received no objection certificates (NOCs) from the Indian cricket board because they have already announced their retirements from Indian cricket.

Manpreet Gony, Manvinder Bisla, and Kumar Boresa are the three former Indian cricketers who might be a part of the BPL draft.

Manpreet Gony has played for four prestigious franchises in IPL like Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, and Mumbai Indians. Bisla also has experience of playing in several teams like Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The official news from BCB will be announced on Sunday. BPL has now been restructured and named as Bangabandhu BPL.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here