India vs New Zealand 1st T20I Preview

India vs New Zealand

The rejuvenated Indian side will be hosting New Zealand for their three-match T20I series starting from Wednesday, 17th December. The first of the three T20Is will be played at the Sawai Mansingh Indoor Stadium in Jaipur, Rajasthan. New Zealand missed onto their opportunity of winning the ICC T20I 2021 World Cup as they succumbed in the finals against the mighty Australians. As for the Indians, the 2021 World Cup was filled with failures. However, both sides have started their preparation for the upcoming T20I World Cup which is scheduled to begin no longer than 11 months from now, lets analyse more about India vs New Zealand 1st T20 Match.

India vs New Zealand 1st T20I: Preview

The last time these two sides faced each other in a T20I battle, New Zealand destroyed India in every aspect of the game. New Zealand won the match with 8 wickets and 6 overs in hand, which indirectly ended India’s quest in the 2021 World Cup. However, the situation will be quite different this time around as the Rohit Sharma-led side will host the Kiwis in their own backyard. With the appointment of a new head coach in the name of Rahul Dravid, the “Men in Blue” will be

Indian fans will be excited to see their team perform under the leadership of Rohit Sharma and Rahul Dravid in the T20I format. The series will also mark the international debut of players like Ruturaj Gaikwad and Venkatesh Iyer. Yuzvendra Chahal has returned to the Indian squad after getting dropped in the T20I World Cup 2021. The likes of Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah have been handed rest from the T20I series.

The past couple of weeks has been a roller-coaster ride for the Kiwis. The Black Caps made a shocking return against England in the semi-finals of the ICC T20I World Cup 2021 but failed to claim the trophy against the mighty Australians. However, New Zealand have quickly turned their attention to the Indian tour where they will be preparing for the upcoming T20I World Cup which is set to be played in Australia in 2022. Kane Williamson has not been included in New Zealand’s T20I squad.

India vs New Zealand 1st T20I: Last 5 Matches

India’s form in the last 5 T20I games


New Zealand’s form in the last 5 T20I games


India vs New Zealand 1st T20I: Full Squad

India’s squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand’s squad:

Martin Guptill, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Todd Astle, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Daryl Mitchell, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Seifert, Tim Southee (C), Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Matched Content Ad