Team India ready for Commonwealth challenge

India squad for Commonwealth Games 2022
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

It’s the first time that the Women’s cricket has been included in the prestigious Commonwealth Games, and the Indian Women side is all set make a good mark in the games. Let us have a look at India squad for Commonwealth Games 2022 here.

Team India are in Group A of Commonwealth games 2022 along with Australia, Pakistan and Barbados. While the hosts England, South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka are in Group B.

The top two teams from both the groups will advance to the semi-finals, which are schedule to play on August 6, while the final match to be played on August 7.

Indian women’s cricket team will begin their campaign on Friday with a huge match against the mighty Australian side, followed by the much bigger game against the rivals Pakistan on Sunday, while they play their last group game against Barbados on Wednesday, August 2.

Team India ready for Commonwealth challenge

With big matches ahead in the road to claim a medal for India, team India’s skipper is very optimistic in her approach of how to proceed further as she said every match is important and they will take one game at a time with medal in mind.

“We will take one game at a time. Have plans for every team but we’re focusing game as of now” said the Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur ahead of the first big game against Australia.

While talking to media, she also said about the much hyped game between India and Pakistan on Sunday.

“All the things are important, winning all the games in a tournament like this specially. The first game will set the nerve for the whole tournament.”

This marks as the second time that cricket has been included in the Commonwealth games, previously the men’s one-day format event in 1998 were included which took place in Kuala Lumpur.

India squad for the Commonwealth Games 2022:

Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, S. Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.

Matched Content Ad