Asia Cup 2022: Pakistan strong on paper, India to start Asia Cup campaign as defending Champions

India and Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup 2022
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

The much awaited prestigious tournament between the Asian giants is all set to start on August 27 at UAE.

There will be as many as 6 teams will take part in the completion, with 5 full members of the ICC (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan) already booked their berths for the event, while the remaining one spot will be grabbed by the team who wins the qualifier, starting August 21.

The schedule for the Asia Cup 2022 is yet to announce. But as per media reports, Sri Lanka will take on Bangladesh on the opening day of the 15th edition of Asia Cup. While rivals, India and Pakistan will lock horns on Sunday, August 28.

As per the recent performances and team combinations, team Pakistan is looking strong team on paper as during the last half dozen whit-ball games Pakistan team have won 5, two against Australia and 3 against West Indies.

However, all of that wins came at home and in 50-over format. While the Asia Cup 2022 will be played in T20 format.

When the last time both team met, Pakistan defeated India by 10 wickets in the ICC men’s T20 World Cup in 2021, and India will be eyeing to take revenge when they face each other on August 28.

India will start their Asia Cup 2022 campaign as the defending champions, as four years back during the final of the 14th edition of Asia Cup in 50-over format, India outlasted Bangladesh in the finals by 3 wickets to win Asia Cup 2018.

Below are the India and Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup 2022 (Predicted)

India’s squad for Asia Cup 2022 (Predicted):

Batters: Rohit Sharma (c), Deepak Hooda, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav

Wicket-keepers: Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik

All-rounders: Hardik Pandya,   Ravindra Jadeja

Bowlers:  Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Prasidh Krishna

Pakistan’s squad for Asia Cup 2022 (Predicted):

Batters: Babar Azam ©, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali

Wicket-keepers: Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr

All-rounders: Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz

Bowlers: Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir, Hasan Ali

Matched Content Ad