IND vs WI: BCCI Announce ODI and T20I Squads

BCCI Announce India ODI and T20I Squads
Image Source:
Article top

BCCI has officially announced the limited over squads for the upcoming West Indies Tour of India 2022. By looking at the squads we can say that the old Team India template is back – Wrist spinners are all set to take the center stage again. After a pretty long gap, Chahal and Kuldeep will be paired up in the ODI games and unfortunately, Ashwin was not included in both ODI and T20I format. Here are BCCI Announce India ODI and T20I Squads.

BCCI Announce India ODI and T20I Squads

Team India is all gearing up to play three ODI’s and three T20I games against the Caribbeans in, Ahmedabad and Kolkata respectively, starting from February 6.

BCCI has officially released a press note stating – “Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested. Ravindra Jadeja is undergoing his final stage of recovery post his knee injury”.

Coach Dravid has also expressed his views and said – “Some of the guys who really help us balance the squad out and give us the all-around options at 6,7, 8 are probably not here, not available for selection. So, hopefully, when they get back, they will probably give us the depth to play in a slightly different style,”

Even Venkatesh Iyer has been dropped from the ODI squad and the selectors have given a complete clarification that he will only be considered for T20 games. We have witnessed an excellent performance from the young lad playing for KKR last year and it was a memorable season for him.

Speaking about the South African series, Dravid said – “South Africa, who batted first on two occasions, only scored 290 and 280. At the 30th over in both those games, I felt we should have chased them down. We didn’t because we played some poor shots and we didn’t play smart cricket in critical situations.”

ODI squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

T20I squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.

Matched Content Ad