IND vs SL ODI series: Full list of players coming in and out in India’s ODI squad from T20Is against Sri Lanka

IND vs SL ODI series
Article top

IND vs SL ODI series: After a high-voltage three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka, which India won by 2 -1, both teams are ready to square off in the 3-match ODI series, starting January 10.

The team for the bilateral assignment was revealed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) last month. Rohit Sharma, the regular Indian skipper, will be back in the team and lead the side in the ODI series after a break of more than a month from international cricket.

As the Men in Blue will begin their ODI World Cup preparations with the series, India made some daring selections in the ODI team, leaving senior opener Shikhar Dhawan and veteran pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar behind.

IND vs SL ODI series: Players coming in

Rohit Sharma

After a break of more than a month, Indian captain Rohit Sharma will lead the ODI side in the three-match series. In the second ODI against Bangladesh on December 7, Rohit made his final appearance for India. While playing that game, he injured his finger while fielding, but when India’s side was in trouble, he came out to bat. He, however, missed the third ODI, the two-match Test series, and also the Sri Lanka T20Is. Now that he is fine, and is ready to back in his role.

Virat Kohli

Kohli, who was part of last month’s Bangladesh tour, took a break from the T20I series against Sri Lanka but is all set to be a part of the ODI team.

Jasprit Bumrah

Speedster, who missed most of the action last year, including the T20 World Cup, is ready to make a comeback as the star pacer will be joining the Indian team for the ODI series.

He was not selected during the announcement of the squad on December 27, 2022, but was added later after getting his fitness report.

Other notables who join them would be KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj.

IND vs SL ODI series: Who’s going out?

Up to eight players from the current three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka will sit out the ODIs.

Along with T20I expert Harshal Patel, Shivam Mavi and Rahul Tripathi, who made their T20I debuts in the first and second matches, respectively, are not a part of the 50-over squad.

Deepak Hooda, an all-rounder, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, and the uncapped team of Mukesh Kumar and Jitesh Sharma are among those who are playing in the T20I series but will not be present for the one-day games.

The three 50-over matches will take place on January 10, 12, and 15 at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati, the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, and the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

India’s ODI squad for Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

Matched Content Ad