Yuzvendra all set to break Ashwin’s most wickets record in T20

Yuzvendra to break Ashwins record
Image Source: Stumpsandbails
Article top

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is all set to break legendary Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin’s highest wickets in the T20 record when he step in to play the upcoming series against South Africa. Here in this article we talk about Yuzvendra to break Ashwins record of most wickets record in T20.

The star Indian blower is just 2 wickets away from achieving the milestone. He has took 274 wickets so far and is behind Ravichandran Ashwin, who is the leading Indian wicket-taker in the T20 cricket.

India will play a 5-match T20 series against South Africa from June 9-19, and Chahal has a great chance to edge past Ravi Ashwin on the elite list.

In the recently concluded Indian Premier League (IPL 2022), Yuzvendra Chahal grabbed the honors of receiving the purple cap after taking the most number of wickets in the cash-rich league. He took as many as 27 wickets in 17 games, and became the highest wicket-taker as spinner in an IPL season, surpassing Imran Tahir’s (26) and Hasaranga’s totals (26).

However, the 31-year-old Chahal already holds the record for the most wickets by an Indian in T20I cricket. The leg spinner has put 68 wickets in 54 matches, 1 more than the speedster Bumrah who is not the part of team’s 5-match T20 series against South Africa due to workload pressure.

Currently, Chahal is on the 18th spot with West Indies magician bowler Dwayne Bravo holds the first spot with 558 wickets in 532 games, followed by Rashid Khan on second with 454 in 327 matches, and Imran Tahir on third with 451 in 356 outings.

While among Indians, Ravichandran Ashwin is currently topping the list with 276 wickets in 282 games, followed by Chahal 274 in 242 in T20 cricket, including all fixtures (International, club, and league cricket).

Most Wickets by Indian bowlers in T20Is –

Player Match Wickets
Ravichandran Ashwin 282 276
Yuzvendra Chahal 242 274
Piyush Chawla 256 270
Amit Mishra 236 262
Jasprit Bumrah 253 207


Matched Content Ad