IND vs ENG: Twitterati React After Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan Get Picked For India

Ind vs Eng T20I squad
Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Rahul Tewatia receive maiden India call-up

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian squad on the evening of February 20. Ind vs Eng T20I squad is scheduled to play a 5-match T20I starting March 12. This series will serve as a dress rehearsal for the Indian team gearing to play the home World Cup in October-November 2021. The Board wants to try out different players before finalizing the squad for the World Cup.

Who all made it to the squad?

The likes of Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and Rahul Tewatia have received maiden T20I call-ups. They have been rewarded for stunning performance in IPL 2020. While Tewatia had a breakthrough IPL season in 2020, Yadav and Kishan have been consistent performers even for their domestic teams.

Ishan Kishan scored a brilliant 94 ball 173 earlier in the day against Madhya Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He celebrated the knock with his inclusion in the Indian team. Varun Chakravarthy who had earlier missed a spot in the team to T. Natarajan owing to an injury returns to the T20I squad.

Also Read | IPL 2021: Major Highlights Of IPL Auctions

Mayank Agarwal and Sanju Samson were dropped from the squad. Ravindra Jadeja and Manish Pandey are yet to recover from injury. While pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami have been rested. Bhuvneshwar Kumar makes a comeback into the Indian team after a prolonged injury. Test wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant too makes a comeback into the limited-overs format.

Reactions of Fans on Twitter:

The internet was ablaze with reactions over selections of both Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan. As the duo have been consistent over a significant period. They hailed their selection as their hard work has borne fruit. The Indian middle-order is suddenly brimming with a lot of firepower with the inclusion of Yadav, Pant, and Kishan.

Also Read | IND vs ENG: Rishabh Pant Does “Spiderman” Workout Ahead Of Third Test Against England

There had been widespread outrage when Suryakumar Yadav wasn’t selected in India’s T20I squad against Australia. A section of fans were severely disappointed with Yadav’s exclusion. But now that he has received the maiden call-up, it is up to Yadav and co to make the most of this opportunity.

Team India’s squad for Ind vs Eng T20I series:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, W Sundar, R Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep, Shardul Thakur.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here