IND Vs BAN 2022: Zakir Hasan receives maiden call-up for first test against India

Zakir Hasan maiden call-up
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Zakir Hasan, a top-order hitter for Bangladesh, has received his first call-up for the first Test against India, which starts on December 14. Let us look into details at Zakir Hasan maiden call-up, IND vs BAN 2022 match updates.

Hasan was chosen to join the team because the seasoned Tamim has not yet fully recovered from a groyne injury. Hasan was the top run scorer in the first-class championship and was selected player of the match in the first unofficial Test against India A.

Zakir Hasan maiden call-up

“Our physio said he (Tamim) won’t be able to play in the first Test. But we are awaiting the medical report for the second Test. So, we’ve announced the squad for the opening Test,” BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz.

Fast-bowler Taskin Ahmed, who is currently missing from the India ODI series due to fitness concerns, has been added to the Test squad.

Bangladesh won the first two games to clinch the three-match ODI series.

The two-match Test series will be a part of the World Test Championship.

Bangladesh squad for first Test against India

Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hassan Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Zakir Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Anamul Haque Bijoy.

Earlier, there has been some news that Indian skipper also won’t be able to take part in the test series duo to his thumb injury.

He injured his thumb while fielding during the second over of the second match between India and Bangladesh on Wednesday, which India lost.

Abhimanyu Easwaran’s name has been popped up in place of him for the test series.

Easwaran, who is currently captaining the India-A team against Bangladesh-A in two-unofficial test series may get a chance.

The Bengal top-order batter has struck 2 consecutive centuries on the tour.

In the absence of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul might wear the captain’s hat. However, there is no official confirmation about Rohit Sharma’s exclusion

India squad for Bangladesh series

Rohit Sharma ©, KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Where to watch India Vs Bangladesh test series?

The test between India and Bangladesh will start on December 14 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram. While the teams then fly back to Dhaka for the second test that will start on December 22.

The test series between India and Bangladesh will be telecasted on Sony Sports Network. While the live streaming of the game will be available to watch on Sonyliv app.

Fans can watch live updates of the IND Vs BAN test series on the Stumps and Bails website as well.

Matched Content Ad