ICC World Cup 2019 – The Dread Fight For No 4

ICC World Cup 2019 - The Dread Fight For No 4
ICC World Cup 2019 - The Dread Fight For No 4
Article top

ICC World Cup 2019 has been purely been dominated by the top teams like India, England, Australia, and New Zealand. There was no tough fight from the remaining six teams.

More than 30 matches are done and the teams are ready to step into the final leg of the league. Unfortunately, Afghanistan and South Africa are now officially out of ICC World Cup 2019. Afghanistan has played seven matches and lost all of them still they are in search for their first world cup win. South Africa has played seven matches and lost six matches.

Now teams have decided to shift the gears around. Sri Lanka opened their fire form against England. This win for Lanka has opened doors and interesting scenarios of qualification.

Even Pakistan had come back strong against South Africa and New Zealand and made a strong comeback statement.

Now Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are the three teams who can posses threat to the top four teams.

India is the only team which is unbeaten in this league so far. New Zealand stands in 3rd position with 5 wins out of 7 matches and one match ended with No-Result and lost a game against Pakistan. India stands at 2nd position with 5 wins out of 6 matches and one match ended with No-Result.

New Zealand has almost fixed their spot in semi-finals. They are just a win away from fixing their spot in semifinals.

India has its remaining fixtures with  Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and England. one win for India and they can ensure their semi-final spot.

Even Australia had an excellent tournament so far, they have won six matches out of seven matches and they currently stand at the 1st position of the table. They just need one win to guarantee their qualification. They have their remaining matches with New Zealand and South Africa.

Sri Lanka

View below topics in this post

6 points from 6 matches and the win against England gave them a massive shot in the arm. They have to play 3 more matches and they will be against

South Africa, West Indies, and India. These matches won’t be easy, but they have the possibility of finishing with 12 points if they win all the three matches.

However, if they end on 10 points, they will have to sit and wait and hope England lose all their remaining matches, Bangladesh does not win more than two and Pakistan lose at least one.

They will be eliminated if they do not win any of their matches.


2 wins from 6 matches and they have to face Afghanistan, India, and Pakistan. If they win all their matches, they will finish with 11 points and can still qualify if:

  • Sri Lanka lose all their remaining matches
  • England wins not win more than one.


Their campaign is very similar to 1992. They won against South Africa which means that are now with 7 points from 7 matches. Remaining two matches are with Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

If they win all the two matches, they will end with 11 points and then hope England do not win more than one and Bangladesh and Sri Lanka need to lose at least one match.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here