ICC World Cup 2019 – ICC Panel Picked The Team Of The Tournament

Kane Williamson On Limelight As India Tours New Zealand
Image Source : Twitter.com
Article top

The ICC World Cup 2019 has been concluded on Sunday where England beat New Zealand and lifted their first World Cup trophy at their home town.

Both the teams have played with a lot of intense and that went for a tie in the finals which looked up to Super Over. Even the super over couldn’t decide the winner of the match. However, England won the match as per the rules of boundaries in ICC.

As the 48th match of tournaments got over, various former cricketers went on to pick World cup Xl and the International Cricket Council also named the official team of the tournament.

New Zealand’s Capitan Kane Williamson, named as the player of the tournament. Willamson made 578 runs in 10 matches and became the captain with more runs in the single edition of World Cup.

He was also the unluckiest Captain as he couldn’t win the World Cup Trophy by some strange rules. The other New Zealand cricketer who was named in the team was Lockie Ferguson who has taken a brilliant catch in the finals and was also the second-highest wicket-taker in the World Cup.

ICC has picked up four members from the England team and they were Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, and Jofra Archer. Roy’s entry after the hamstring injury has made England move to finals and lift the World Cup trophy.

Ben Stokes was given Man of the match in the World Cup finals for his 84 not out which made them hunt till the last and even in the Super Over too. Archer who was the fast-tracked of England to play in this World Cup took 20 wickets in the Tournaments.

There were two from the Australian team into the World cup Xl and they were Mitchell Starc and Alex Carey. Starc was recorded as the highest wicket-taker in the World Cup with 27 scalps.

India’s Rohit Sharma was the run-getter with five centuries in the tournaments and with 648 runs in 9 matches. The other one from India was Jasprit Bumrah who took 18 wickets from nine matches and was the top bowler in the world.

The all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was the only one from Bangladesh who was found in Xl. He was the only one in his team to make 606 runs in the world Cup and was the third-highest run-getter and also took 11 wickets.

A five-member committee comprising former cricketers and currently commentators Ian Bishop, Ian Smith and Isha Guha, ICC General Manager, Cricket Geoff Allardice, and journalist Lawrence Booth picked the XI.

ICC World Cup 2019 – ICC’s Team of the Tournament:

  1. Jason Roy
  2. Rohit Sharma
  3. Kane Williamson (C)
  4. Joe Root
  5. Shakib Al Hasan
  6. Ben Stokes
  7. Alex Carey (WK)
  8. Mitchell Starc
  9. Jofra Archer
  10. Lockie Ferguson
  11. Jasprit Bumrah
Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here