ICC Reveals The 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Series Voted As ”Ultimate Test Series”

ICC Crown 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy As The Ultimate Test Series
Image Source: Twitter.com

The International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy contest between India and Australia as the “Ultimate Test Series“.

“Ahead of the #WTC21 final, we set out to determine #TheUltimateTestSeries. After 15 head-to-heads and over seven million votes across our social channels, we have a winner… The 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy takes the crown, as the Ultimate Test Series” the official handle of ICC tweeted.

The 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy was a challenge, along with the 1999 series between India and Pakistan, and the former got the maximum votes in the end.

England and Australia were made the semi-finals of the 2005 Ashes series.

While semi-final, the 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy was selected for the 2001 India vs Australia series. The historic Kolkata Test, in which VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid produced a spectacular comeback to deliver Sourav Ganguly’s side an unexpected victory, is forever remembered from the 2001 series.

In the 2020-21 series, India beaten Australia for the first time ever in a Test match at The Gabba from since 1988 and won the four-match series 2-1.

The last time a visiting team achieved at the Brisbane Cricket Ground was in November 1988, when Viv Richards’ strong West Indian team defeated Allan Border’s team by 9 wickets.

At the first Test facing Australia, India was bowled out for 36 runs in Adelaide, lost by eight wickets.

Virat Kohli, the captain, returned home after being given paternity leave, but the squad showed tremendous spirit and resolve under Ajinkya Rahane to win the series. The visitors were injured a lot in the entire tour, but this did not give up the spirits of the team, as a young team won in the last Test at The Gabba.


AlsoRead: “It Is Really Shame On Calling Him As A Youngster”- Farokh Engineer Criticises Ollie Robinson


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here