ICC Announces 2025 Women’s ODI World Cup Will Take Place In India

2025 Women's ODI World Cup
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially named the nations that will host the important ICC events for women, with India to host the prestigious 50-over 2025 Women’s ODI World Cup.

It will be India’s fourth time hosting a women’s 50-over World Cup and the first time in more than ten years that they will be the host nation. Beginning with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be held in Bangladesh, the World Cup will be one of four women’s competitions to be held in four years.

The last time India hosted the competition, Australia won by defeating the West Indies in the final match by 114 runs in Mumbai. The last big international women’s cricket competition to be held in India was the 2016 T20 World Cup, which was won by West Indies.

“We are delighted to have awarded ICC women’s white ball events to Bangladesh, India, England, and Sri Lanka. Accelerating the growth of the women’s game is one of the ICC’s strategic priorities and taking these events to some of our sport’s biggest markets gives us a fantastic opportunity to do that and deepen its connection with cricket’s one billion plus fans,” ICC quoted Greg Barclay, ICC Chairman as saying.

What BCCI said about India hosting the 20125 Women’s World Cup

“We were keen on hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025 And we are glad we have won the hosting rights for this marquee clash on the women’s calendar India hosted the 50-over women’s World Cup in 2013 And the sport has undergone tremendous transformation since then,” Sourav Ganguly, President, BCCI said.

Additionally, England has been given the right to host the 2026 T20 World Cup. The competition will take place for the first time in the nation, with 33 matches to be contested and an increase in teams from 10 to 12.

The last event of the ICC’s future tour program of the 2023-2027 cycle, ICC Champions Trophy 2027 will take place in Sri Lanka, if they are able to qualify for the tournament.

Matched Content Ad