ICC Announce 20 Strong Match Officials For T20 World Cup 2021

ICC Announce 20 Strong Match Officials For T20 World Cup 2021
Credits: Twitter.com
Article top

ICC has officially announced the list of 20 strong match officials for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. The list consists of 16 umpires and 4 match referees for the Round 1 and Super 12’s stages of the mega event.

For the first time after the Covid-19 pandemic – We will witness neutral umpires for all the matches which will start from 17th October to 14 November.

Three of the 16 umpires – Aleem Dar, Marais Erasmus, and Rod Tucker – will be officiating in their sixth ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The 1st game of the mega event will take place between Oman vs Papua New Guinea on 17 October and this match will be officiated by Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena. He was one of the on-field umpires for the 2019 world cup alongside New Zealand’s Chris Gaffaney.

Complete List of Match Officials from ICC :

Match Referees: David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Javagal Srinath.

Umpires: Chris Brown, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Rod Tucker, Joel Wilson, Paul Wilson.

ICC Senior Manager, Mr. Adrian Griffith said – “We are delighted to be able to call on some of the world’s top officials for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup with a group of 16 umpires and four-match referees”

He also added – “Our aim is always to appoint the best possible officials, and we have also been able to appoint neutral umpires and referees in all matches. We wish them all the very best, and we are confident they will ensure the smooth conduct of matches.”

All the teams have announced their squads for the mega event, however, ICC has given 10th OCT 2021 as the last date to make any changes to their respective squads. Currently, most Indian and foreign players are busy with their IPL duties.

Matched Content Ad