How Much Money Did Each IPL Franchise Spent In All Seasons?

How Much Money Did Each IPL Franchise Spent In All Seasons?
money spent by teams in the IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a cash-rich tournament. Team owners total money spent by all the IPL franchises in the 14 Seasons Of IPL, logistics, support staff, and the team in general. The glitz and glamour of the IPL are there for everyone to see. This article is all about How Much Money Did Each IPL Franchise Spent In All Seasons?

Teams are assigned a purse cap to form a team in the auctions. The cap currently stands at INR 85 crores. Teams may either shell out the money in total or use it for their team’s purpose later during the tournament.

The salary cap ensures it is a level playing field for all the teams. IPL is BCCI’s brainchild and all the franchises participating in the league have to bid a certain amount to acquire a team. The rule will come into play in the next season as well when 2 new teams will enter the fray in the IPL.

Let’s look at the total money spent by all the 8 franchises in the past 14 seasons:

#8 Rajasthan Royals

Total money spent by all the IPL franchises in the 14 seasons of IPL. RR was known as the money-ball team of the IPL. They made low-profile signings and extracted the best performances from limited resources. RR’s strategy paid off handsomely in the inaugural season when they emerged champions. Their business tactic changed completely post their comeback in 2018. RR since then has been hell-bent on making few big-ticket signings. Royals’ total spends amounts to INR 524.29 crores.

#7 Sunrisers Hyderabad

SRH much like RR is one team that punches well above its weight. The SRH franchise was established in 2013. SRH has qualified for the playoff in every season since 2015. They were the champions in 2016 and runner-up in 2018. SRH love flying under the radar and it shows in the way they efficiently utilize resources at their disposal. Their total spends line up to INR 556.67 crores.

#6 Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings have arguably been the most consistent team in IPL history. They made the playoffs every year they participated barring in 2020. CSK is the only team to field just 2 captains. MS Dhoni is their face and the franchise’s biggest brand. It surely might surprise the fans to see CSK at number 6 in this list as they are one of the most high-profile teams in the league. This is to CSK’s credit that they have been wise with their money too. Their spending account for INR 674.43 crores.

#5 Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings are among the only 3 teams to have never won the IPL. They came very close in 2014 but since then have failed to even qualify for the playoffs. The franchise is infamously famous for allowing its owners to take the cricketing decisions. This has ensured poor team selections and unsurprisingly it has been reflected in the results. They completely revamp their squad every year in the auctions splurging big money. But they fail to retain faith in them. Their spendings are a humungous INR 686.56 crores.

#4 Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals finally got their act right in 2018 when they appointed Ricky Ponting as their head coach. They then handed over captaincy duties to Shreyas Iyer midway through IPL 2018. The Iyer-Ponting combination has ensured two consecutive playoff finishes for DC in 2019 and 2020. DC entered the finals for the first time in IPL 2020. They made the notorious signing of Yuvraj Singh for INR 16 crores in 2015 and Dinesh Karthik for INR 12.5 crores in 2014. DC has splurged a total of INR 740.20 crores in the IPL.

#3 Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders are one of the most popular teams in the IPL. They enjoy a fierce fanbase. KKR was a mess until 2010. They made a record signing of INR 11 crores for Gautam Gambhir in 2011. He changed the KKR team forever. They went on to win 2 titles in 3 seasons (2012 and 2014). Shahrukh Khan-owned KKR is right up there with the best when it comes to doling out billions. KKR’s total spends amount to INR 769.29 crores.

#2 Mumbai Indians

The Ambanis own the Mumbai Indians’ franchise. These two names have been synonymous with the IPL ever since its inception. The fact that the richest team owners in the league failed to put in a winning team for the first 5 seasons was incomprehensible. Rohit Sharma’s ascendancy to the captaincy changed the fortunes of Mumbai Indians. They went on to win 5 titles in 8 seasons. MI are without a doubt the team to beat in the IPL. MI’s cumulative spending over the years amounts to INR 794.49 crores.

#1 Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore top this list of heavy money spenders. They are the most talked-about team to have never won the IPL. Virat Kohli, the captain of RCB is a blockbuster brand. This ensures tremendous traction for RCB. They might not have won a single title yet but over the years they have built extremely successful brand equity. RCB’s spends amount to a mammoth INR 821.85 crores.

This article is all about How Much Money Did Each IPL Franchise Spent In All Seasons?

Also read: T20-WC: SLC Picks Jayawardene As Consultant For National Team