How many times Sunrisers Hyderabad qualified for IPL playoffs?

How many times did SRH qualified for IPL playoffs?
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

In the heart of Hyderabad city, Sunrisers Hyderabad has qualified for the playoffs 6 times since their debut in 2013. Here in this article, we have talked about How many times did SRH qualified for IPL playoffs?

Sunrisers Hyderabad, who replaced the Deccan Chargers in 2012 has been one of the most consistent sides of the cash-rich league, having made it to the playoffs 6 times out of 9 tournaments they participated in.

However, the 2022 season was a bit rollercoaster for the SRH and didn’t make the cut this time. But their fans are sure that SRH will bounce back stronger in the next season.

In their debut season itself, the Sunrisers reached the playoffs but unfortunately, they lost the eliminator game against Rajasthan and ended their run in fourth place.

The second time when they reached the playoffs in 2016, they left no stone unturned to make it to the finals first and then won the final game against Royal Challengers Bangalore under the captaincy of David Warner.

In the 10th season of IPL, SRH again qualified for the playoffs but was defeated by Kolkata Knight Riders in the eliminator game and finished their journey in the fourth spot.

In 2018, Kane Williamson was announced as the skipper of Sunrisers Hyderabad as BCCI had banned their full-time skipper David Warner to play in IPL 2018 due to ball-tampering controversy. The Sunrisers team played a good game of cricket in 2018 under the leadership of Kane Williamson and they reached the finals as well, although they lost the final to Chennai Super Kings.

SRH were on a roll when he again entered the playoffs in 2019 as well but ended up at 4th position.

They reached the playoffs for the fifth consecutive time in 2020, they won the eliminator game against RCB and reached the qualifier 2, where they lost to DC and finished in 3rd spot.

Sunrisers Hyderabad was founded in 2012 after the former team of Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers were terminated for breaching IPL contracts. However, Deccan Chargers won the second season of IPL.

Only Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, and Royal Challengers Bangalore are ahead of SRH in the stats of playing most playoffs in the IPL history.

CSK have qualified for the playoffs the most number of times, 11. Mumbai Indians have reached 9 times. While RCB crossed the qualifying doors 7 times.

The four-time champions CSK have reached the playoffs 11 times, while the most successful IPL team of all time, Mumbai Indians have qualified 9 times.

Matched Content Ad