How many times PBKS qualified for IPL playoffs?

How many times PBKS qualified for IPL playoffs?
Image Source:
Article top

Punjab Kings, previously known as Kings XI Punjab, has made just 2 playoff appearance in 15 seasons.

The team of Kings, who started their campaign in 2008 on a very high note and reached the playoffs in the inaugural season itself, lost their track after that and most of the times they ended at 5th or 6th positions.

However, Punjab team lost the semi-finals in 2008, but they were considered as one of the favourites to win IPL 2009. Even having big names in the squad such as Yuvraj Singh, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayewardene, Irfan Pathan, and Brett Lee to name a few, they ended the second season in the fifth spot.

They finished 8th out of 8 teams in 2010. Punjab team then appointed Adam Gilchrist as their captain in 2011, but they again finished fifth. The 2012 and 2013 season were also a rollercoaster for the Punjab franchise as in those two seasons they also failed to make the cut.

The best season for Punjab Kings till date was the 2014 season when they not only reached the playoffs but also played the finals.

The George Bailey-led side ended the league stage as the table toppers and also defeated CSK in a qualifier 1 game and straightaway reached the finals, but unfortunately even after scoring 199 runs in 20 overs, they lost the game by 3 wickets against Kolkata Knight Riders.

They had 3 unforgettable seasons after that before they bounced back with the new team consisting of KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh and Ravichandran Ashwin. The Punjab side won their first 5 games in 6 matches and considered as the favorite to win the title. However, they lost the rhythm in the remaining eight games and only managed to win 1 out of 8 and again failed to qualify for playoffs.

In the next three season (2019 to 2021), they finished on sixth position, and even in 2022 they failed to make the playoffs cut.

Matched Content Ad