How Many Times Delhi Capitals Qualified For Playoffs?

How Many Times DC Qualified For Playoffs?
Image Source:
Article top

View below topics in this post

In the history of the Indian Premier League(IPL), the Delhi Capitals have been consistent underachievers. They have only advanced to the knockout rounds 5 times in 14 IPL seasons. If that isn’t caused for alarm, here’s another scenario. In their whole existence, they have only earned one playoff matchup. Here we have discussed How Many Times DC Qualified For Playoffs?

If it isn’t horrifying, good fortune sorting it out. That is the tale of the Delhi Capitals & their IPL misfortune. Their playoff curse is so awful that the IPL Governing Council modified the playoff system to reflect the occasion while Delhi topped their cohort in IPL 2009 but was ousted just after one defeat in the semi-final.

In addition, they were so unlucky that even after the playoff system was revised, they could only utilize it once, in IPL 2012. Even yet, they were unable to win on two occasions. The terrible streak stopped in IPL 2019 as they won a playoff match for the first occasion in their era, in the Eliminator versus Sunrisers Hyderabad. However, they were brought back down to earth with a crushing defeat to CSK in Qualifier 2.

Here’s the skinny on the Capitals’ terrible performance in the IPL playoffs. After a promising start in the IPL 2008, Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) advanced to the semi-finals, wherein they faced Rajasthan Royals. They had won the group in IPL 2009 and were favored vs a mediocre DC team. With some stellar performances in IPL 2012, Delhi Capitals rose to prominence in the standings once more. They were defeated by the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 1st qualifier.

Delhi Capitals Are Still Hunting For IPL Title

That’s the best the Delhi Daredevils accomplished, as they suffered in the following six tournaments. They were titled Delhi Capitals in IPL 2019 and advanced to the knockout rounds for the first occasion in 7 years. They overcame their curse in spectacular fashion, defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 2 wickets in the Eliminator to claim their first-ever playoff victory. Unfortunately, they were beaten by Chennai by 6 wickets in Qualifier 2.

In spite of this, they staged a spirited comeback, which enabled them to secure a playoff position for the 2020 season. At the Dubai International Stadium, the final match of the IPL 2020 was played between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals. Mumbai won the match by a score of five wickets to stretch their streak to a record-extending 5th IPL triumph.

Since Shreyas Iyer suffered a shoulder dislocation and was subsequently ruled out of the 2021 League season, Delhi formally appointed Rishabh Pant to the position of captain of the team. Before the season was permanently interrupted event of a breach of the COVID-19 biosecure bubble, DC had won 6 out of 8 games and was positioned at the top of the standings (secured Playoffs).

In the 2022 season of the Indian T20 league, they are ranked fifth in the standings and will compete for the one position left to qualify for the playoffs.

Matched Content Ad