Eoin Morgan Returns As ENG Names 16-Man For PAK T20I Series

England Announces 15-Man Squad For T20 World Cup 2021
Image Source: Twitter.com

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed that captain Eoin Morgan, including the white-ball regulars, will return to the national side for the T20I series with Pakistan. As the COVID-19 breakout in the England camp before the ODI series forced all of the players to stay in isolation. Eoin Morgan returns as England name 16-man.

Eoin Morgan returns, England name full-strength squad for Pakistan T20Is after all 16-members test Covid-negative

All of the players will be back on the pitch after their isolation periods are over. After 3-players and 4-supporters personnel from the side selected for the Pakistan ODIs were found to be positive for COVID-19, Morgan and Jos Buttler were designated close connections. Pakistan was thrashed 3-0 after a new team was revealed.

Ben Stokes was named captain of that team, however, he was rested for the T20Is and will return to Durham to prepare for the Hundred and the forthcoming Test series versus India. Lewis Gregory, Jake Ball, Matt Parkinson, and Saqib Mahmood all improve the quality in the ODI series, have been included in the 16-member T20I team.

Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Sam Curran, Sam Billings and Liam Dawson,  are among the significant players that were absent from the T20I team that faced Sri Lanka. In addition, it was rumored that head coach Chris Silverwood will be granted a vacation. Former England captain Paul Collingwood has been assigned the role of head coach for this series.

‘I would like to express my thanks to Ben Stokes’: Silverwood

Eoin Morgan returns as England name 16-man. “The Royal London Series success against Pakistan showcased the exciting depth of talent we have developed in men’s white-ball cricket,” said Silverwood.

We have selected a T20 squad that sees the return of many of our most experienced players after their period of isolation. Additionally, we have rewarded some of the players involved in the 50-over series win with a selection which allows us to manage multi-format players as we prepare for the much-anticipated Test series against India,” he added.

“I would like to express my thanks to Ben Stokes and the players for their efforts over the last week, and the counties for their support in getting this series on.”

The match’s opening T20I will be held on July 16 at Trent Bridge in Nottingham. On July 18, the game would move to Headingley in Leeds, for the second T20I. The final series will be held on July 20 at Old Trafford in Manchester.

England T20I Squad Against PAK:

Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Tom Banton, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey.

Also Read: WTC 2021-23: ICC Reveals Fixtures And New Points System

Matched Content Ad