England Announces Squad For T20 World Cup 2022, Pakistan Tour

England Announces Squad For T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source: ICC
Article top

England now becomes the first country to announce its squad for T20 World Cup 2022.
Ben Stokes is back in the 15-man England roster for the World Cup, which begins in Australia next month. Prior to the World Cup in October, the same 15-member team will play Australia in a three-match T20I series.

With the exception of opener Jason Roy, who was not selected, England’s starting lineup is largely stable. Tymal Mills, Liam Dawson, and Richard Gleeson have been picked as three reserves for England, and the last two are also in the 19-person team that will travel to Pakistan before the World Cup.

Roy’s replacement is Lancashire opener Phil Salt, who debuted in T20Is last year and has appeared in four matches. He has a 150.31 T20 strike rate to his credit.

Both squads have Chris Woakes and Mark Wood of the Pacers listed as members after they have fully recovered from their ailments. Chris Jordan and Liam Livingstone will miss the tour of Pakistan as they continue to recover from injuries to their fingers and ankles, respectively, but they are expected to be ready for the championship game later that month. Jos Buttler, the captain of England, will visit Pakistan but won’t play in the first match because of a calf injury. To take the helm in Buttler’s absence is Moeen Ali.

Five uncapped players have also been picked for England’s first visit of Pakistan since 2005. The addition of Olly Stone, who has already played in his first ODI and Test, is noteworthy. In addition to Luke Wood of Lancashire, Tom Helm of Middlesex and Birmingham Phoenix (The Hundred) has been called up. Wood traveled with England’s team on their recent trip to the Netherlands, but he was not given the opportunity to play.

England Squad for T20 World Cup 2022, Australia:

T20 World Cup Squad: Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Traveling Reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills

England Squad for T20 Bilateral Series in Pakistan:

England squad for Pakistan tour: Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, Mark Wood.

Matched Content Ad