ECB Announced England’s Home Season Schedule In 2020

ECB Welcomes British Government Advice Over Restart Cricket
Image Source:
Article top

England, the World Cup champions of 2019, are scheduled to play their home season in 2020. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the home season fixture of the Men’s team on Wednesday.

England is set to host West Indies, Pakistan, Australia, and Ireland next year and will play a total of 6 Tests, 6 One-Day Internationals and 6 T20Is from June to September. In a Total, England will play 18 games in their home season against four different opponents.

England’s home summer will begin with the first test against West Indies at Oval on June 4. Australia who is currently playing the Ashes in England will return to the country next year in July to face the home team in a three-match ODI and T20I series each.

The shortest format of three matches will be played on July 3,5 and 7 in Durham, Old Trafford, and Headingley respectively. While the ODI series is scheduled to start on July 11 and will be for three days at Lord’s. The remaining two games of the series will take place at the Ageas Bowl and the County Ground in Bristol on July 14 and 16 respectively.

The Englands home season starts with a longer format against West Indies with a complete three-test series in the month of June. Then comes the Australia series which has three T20’s and three ODI’s will be starting in July.

After the Australia series, England will next host Pakistan for three Tests and three T20 Internationals. Lord’s will host its second Test and the third international game of the Test series between the two will commence at the venue on July 30. The Old Trafford and the Trent Bridge are the venues for the other two Test matches.

Australia is set to play the T20 World Cup in October in 2020 while there are many T20 Internationals which will be taking place across the World within the next 12 months of time span. After the Pakistan series, the host is set to play with Ireland, the last team to visit England next year as they will play three ODIs against the home team.

“The ICC World Test Championship will add significance and context to the Test Series against West Indies and Pakistan. Where every Test matters, there will be lots of points to play for as England continue their efforts to reach the inaugural World Test Championship final in June 2021.”- the ECB’s chief executive Tom Harrison said.

“Alongside the red-ball matches, England’s ODI contests against Australia, and Ireland will see the World Champions return to home soil with big crowds expected at all venues. With the further interest in T20I cricket, the six matches against Australia and the world number one side Pakistan will offer a fascinating guide to form ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia during the autumn of 2020.” – Tom Harrison added.

Here’s the schedule of England’s home season:

England v West Indies Test series

  • Thu 4 -Mon 8 June – 1st Test v West Indies Kia Oval 11 am
  • Fri 12-Tue 16 June – 2nd Test v West Indies Edgbaston 11 am
  • Thu 25-Mon 29 June – 3rd Test v West Indies Lord’s 11 am

England v Australia T20 series

  • Fri 3 July – 1st T20 v Australia Emirates Riverside, Durham 6.30 pm
  • Sun 5 July – 2nd T20 v Australia Emirates Old Trafford 5 pm
  • Tue 7 July – 3rd T20 v Australia Emerald Headingley 6.30 pm

England v Australia ODI series

  • Sat 11 July – 1st ODI v Australia Lord’s 1 pm
  • Tue 14 July – 2nd ODI v Australia Ageas Bowl 1 pm
  • Thu 16 July – 3rd ODI v Australia Bristol County Ground, Bristol 1 pm

England v Pakistan Test series

  • Thu 30 July-Mon 3 Aug – 1st Test v Pakistan Lord’s 11 am
  • Fri 7-Tue 11 Aug – 2nd Test v Pakistan Emirates Old Trafford 11 am
  • Thu 20-Mon 24 Aug – 3rd Test v Pakistan Trent Bridge 11 am

England v Pakistan T20 series

  • Sat 29 Aug – 1st T20 v Pakistan Emerald Headingley 5 pm
  • Mon 31 Aug – 2nd T20 v Pakistan Sophia Gardens, Cardiff 2.30 pm
  • Wed 2 Sept – 3rd T20 v Pakistan Ageas Bowl 6.30 pm

England v Ireland ODI series

  • Thu 10 Sept – 1st ODI v Ireland Trent Bridge 12.30 pm
  • Sat 12 Sept – 2nd ODI v Ireland Edgbaston 12.30 pm
  • Tue 15 Sept – 3rd ODI v Ireland Kia Oval 12.30 pm
Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here