“Don’t Start This Nonsense”: Gautam Gambhir on allowing Virat Kohli to open for India

Gautam Gambhir on Virat Kohli
Image Source: BCCI
Article top

Following the Asia Cup 2022, where Virat Kohli appeared to be regaining his form, there have been rumblings in the cricket community about allowing Virat to begin the innings for India.

The star batter, who was struggling with his form before the Asia Cup, scored two half-centuries and brilliant hundred in his 5 outings in the marquee event. The ex-skipper smashed the century while he came to open the innings for India in team’s final match of the tournament.

Kohli was promoted to open the innings as team India’s regular opener Rohit Sharma took rest in that match and what Virat did on that night was unforgettable.

Kohli recorded his first T20I century and the best individual score by an India batter in T20Is while starting the innings with KL Rahul in place of Rohit Sharma who was rested against Afghanistan.

And after that innings, many believe it could be best for India if he starts the innings.

Gautam Gambhir, former opener for the Indian cricket team and 2007 and 2011 World Cups champion, has severely responded to the notion.

Gautam Gambhir on Virat Kohli:

“Only as a backup (opener). Don’t start this nonsense about him (Kohli) opening the batting. He can’t open the batting with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma (available). And I have said this on air that we shouldn’t even start this. I will always be flexible about No. 3. I will not have Virat Kohli fixed at No. 3 position. If the openers have batted till the 10th over, then it has to be Suryakumar Yadav at No.3. If an early wicket falls then Kohli,” Gambhir said on an episode of ‘GamePlan’ on Star Sports.

Virat finished as the second-highest run scorer in the competition with 276 runs from five innings at an average of 92, ending his long century drought.

India will start their World Cup campaign on October 23 against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby: Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Deepak Chahar

Matched Content Ad