Dhoni Starts Training With Jharkhand Ranji Squad

CSK Captain Dhoni Will Start His Training For IPL 2020
CSK Captain Dhoni Will Start His Training For IPL 2020

The future of MS Dhoni in Indian cricket is one of the top debated topic these days. On Thursday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the central contract of the upcoming season. According to it, no contract has been given to Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Now, Dhoni is in the picture once again as he has begun practicing with Jharkhand Ranji Trophy squad. He has participated in his home team’s net practice in Ranchi. 

In the last season, Dhoni was in Category ‘A’. And in the top category, which is A+, the dynamic trio – Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah have got their spots in it. Since the ICC ODI World Cup, Dhoni has been out of action.

In the semi-finals, India was knocked out with a loss to New Zealand. There is a question mark in the Indian team about the future of Dhoni. And with this step taken by the board, it will raise more doubts in the future regarding the former India Captain’s future.

MS Dhoni served is the only international captain to register a T20 and ODI World Cup. He was India’s skipper when the team won the 2013 Champions Trophy.

In 90 Test matches, Dhoni scored 4876 runs for India. In 350 ODIs, he became one of India’s best 50-overs cricketer of India with an average of 50.57 and an aggregate of 10,773 runs. He played 98 T20Is, scoring 1617 runs.

Soon, the legend will end his ODI career as the head coach Ravi Shastri hinted in an interview recently. 

Over the last year, Jasprit Bumrah has grown in stature in all the three formats, becoming India’s pace spearhead. Alongside Kohli and Rohit, Bumrah retains his place in the top tier. From grade ‘B,’ the top-order batsman KL Rahul has been promoted to Grade ‘A’. This is even though he lost his place in the Test squad. 

This is how the BCCI contract stands for the upcoming season:

Category A: Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, and Rishabh Pant

Category B: Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal.

Category C: Kedar Jadhav, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here