Deciding The Result On Boundary Count Was “Not Really Cricket” : Kane Williamson

0
82
Deciding The Result On Boundary Count Was
Deciding The Result On Boundary Count Was "Not Really Cricket" : Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson, the captain of the New Zealand cricket team, still has not come to terms with the dramatic loss which his team suffered in the finals of the 2019 World Cup against England. He says the match’s result on boundary count was “not really cricket.”

On July 14th, New Zealand and England were playing against each other at the Lord’s. The match ended in a tie. England cricket team were announced as the champions of the 2019 World Cup on the basis of their superior boundary count. England squad smashed 26 boundaries in their innings while New Zealand scored 17.

Kane Williamson said, while addressing reporters ahead of the first Test against England, said, “I genuinely think that no one ever thought that was going to happen and it did, some times, you think about how some of those decisions are made; probably sitting in a room a little like this and throwing a few ideas around. That’s all I can imagine. And then for it to actually happen is a pretty scary thing. I guess it highlighted something and it will probably never happen again. It’s not really cricket and I think both teams appreciated that. It was hard to take. But at the same time, those rules were already in place.”

Williamson added, “It was a fantastic game to be a part of and a really competitive match. I think everyone has played hundreds of games of cricket and never had one decided quite like that. It is what it is, and they were the rules at the time. What you sign up for. But, yeah, it’s no surprise that it’s changed.”

The International Cricket Council has scrapped the contentious boundary rule and declared that it would not be used in the future ICC events.

England and New Zealand are going to start playing the two-Test match series from Thursday.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here