Day-Night Test: How Indian Cricketers Have Performed In Pink Ball Cricket

Day-Night Test: How Indian Cricketers Have Performed In Pink Ball Cricket
Day-Night Test: How Indian Cricketers Have Performed In Pink Ball Cricket
Article top

Team India is all set to play their first-ever pink-ball Test against Bangladesh from 22nd November which is scheduled to take place at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. It is the second match of the ongoing 2-Test match series.

The first-ever day-night Test was played in 2015 between Australia and New Zealand. Since then, they played 11 pink-ball Test games. But Team India stayed away from the experimental format until Sourav Ganguly took over as the BCCI president.

In the past, India has rejected proposals of Australia and West Indies when they came forward to host India in a pink-ball Test. Team India has also missed out on an opportunity to host D/N Tests in the 2016-17 season.

Duleep Trophy was played with the pink ball for three seasons. It is India’s 4-day domestic cricket tournament. The first-ever official pink ball game played in the country was CAB (Cricket Association of Bengal) premier league’s final at the Eden Gardens in 2016.

Here’s a look at how India cricketers have fared in pink-ball cricket

Team India captain Virat Kohli, vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, off-spinner Ravi Chandran Ashwin, pacer Umesh Yadav, and Shubhman Gill are the 5 Indian players who have no experience in pink-ball cricket.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma participated in Duleep trophy 2016, his first-ever pink ball game. He played for India Blue in the final.

Mayank Agarwal

Mayank Agarwal was the star of the first pink-ball game in India. He smashed 161 runs representing India Blue and scored two half-centuries in the finals.

Cheteshwar Pujara

Pujara has played in the first pink ball game. He scored 256 runs which helped India Blue to win the Duleep trophy 2016.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has no competitive experience in pink-ball cricket.

Ajinkya Rahane

Rahane hasn’t played a pink-ball match yet.

Wriddhiman Saha

Wriddhiman Saha has played in the CAB super league finals. He scored 33 runs in the first innings.

Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja also played in the 2016 Duleep trophy. In the final, he took two 5-wicket hauls with the pink ball and scored 48 and 17 in each innings. He ended the match with figures of 171/10.

R Ashwin

Ashwin has no experience of playing with a pink ball.

Umesh Yadav

Umesh Yadav is still not exposed to pink-ball cricket.

Mohammed Shami

Mohammed Shami took part in the historic CAB super league final. He took a five-wicket haul and was awarded the man of the match.

Ishant Sharma

Ishant Sharma played one match in Duleep Trophy in the 2017 season. He took one wicket and scored 9 runs representing India Blue in Kanpur.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here