Big Blow For Sydney Thunder as David Willey Pulls Out of BBL 2022-23

David Willey news
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

David Willey news: David Willey has decided to withdraw from BBL 2022-23. His decision to withdraw from the competition dealt a setback to Sydney Thunder ahead of the 2022-23 Big Bash League season. Willey was the first-round pick of Thunder in the BBL draught.

Willey was a member of the England team that won the T20 World Cup on Sunday, but he was unable to play in any of the matches that took place throughout the competition. David is renowned for his powerful hitting with the willow in addition to his skill with the ball, having scored a few hundred in the T20 format. Thunder has already started looking for an appropriate successor.

Sydney Thunder on David Willey BBL 2022-23 Withdrawal

The Thunder acknowledged on Tuesday that Willey and the organization’s administration had reached a mutual decision to end the contract (November 15). David and his management have been a pleasure to work with, according to Andrew Gilchrist, CEO of Sydney Thunder. David won’t be playing for Sydney Thunder this season, which we regret, but we wish him and his family the best of luck in the future.

Given that Alex Hales and Rilee Rossouw, two of Thunder’s international hitters, would be departing in early January, Willey’s decision to withdraw is undoubtedly a disappointment. However, when the Tests at home this summer are over, they will be able to use David Warner’s services for the first time since 2013.

“We have started the process, but Sydney Thunder boasts some incredible players on this summer’s roster. Alex Hales has been a star for England’s T20 World Cup campaign, and Rilee Rossouw proved while playing for South Africa how dangerous he can be.

“We also have the best signing of the season in Dave Warner, while Jason Sangha, Chris Green, Tanveer Sangha, Ben Cutting, and Matthew Gilkes are among the best in the business.”

What is Big Bash League 2022-23?

Season 12 of the Big Bash Competition (BBL, Big Bash, or BBLT20), a Twenty20 cricket league run by Cricket Australia, will take place from December 2022 to January 2023. (CA). The Big Bash League season 2022–23, often known as BBL12, was the league’s twelfth and final season. It included 61 professional men’s Twenty20 domestic cricket matches.

Cricket Australia founded the BBL in 2011, an Australian Twenty20 cricket professional franchise league. The KFC Twenty20 Big Bash was replaced by the Big Bash League, which has eight city-based franchises as opposed to the six state teams that had previously competed.



Matched Content Ad