Dale Steyn Left Out Of National Contract List Of South Africa

Dale Steyn Retires From Tests
Image Source: Twitter.com

Dale Steyn Failed To Acquire A Contract Of Cricket South Africa:

For the 2020-21 season, one of the greatest fast bowlers Dale Steyn has been missing out on the national contract list of Cricket South Africa (CSA). And left-arm fast bowler, Beuran Eric Hendricks has been awarded his first national contract.

The list was announced on Monday (23-03-2020). In that list, batsman Rassie van der Dussen, fast bowler Anrich Nortje and all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius got their upgraded contract.

Dr. Jacques Faul Statement:

Chief Executive of CSA, Dr. Jacques Faul said “in our list 16 men players and 14 women players are included. We have involved those players in the contract list who are appropriate to get into our national teams across all the formats.”

Also, he added that “this contract list enables us to deal with both our Test players and those who are experts in limited-overs. We have taken the decision of keeping the 17th men’s contract open currently and all the players can qualify for the contract through their performances.”

The contracts of men will cover home series of South Africa against Sri Lanka (Test), Pakistan (T20Is), T20 World Cup in Australia, India (T20Is), Australia (Tests) and away tours to Sri Lanka and West Indies.

And the contract of women will cover Sinaloa Jafta and Nadine de Klerk, who acquired upgraded contract at the time of the last season, and these two cricketers have been reserved on the contracted cricketers’ list.

The women’s contract will cover the 2021 Women’s World Cup, which is scheduled to be held in New Zealand, and England as well as West Indies tours. The contract also covers the delayed home series with Australia.

The CSA release further added that “The contract upgrade system will again take place this year in which cricketers can perform and get selected for South Africa during this 2020/21 season and those are not contracted can qualify for an up-gradation of National contract.”

Contracted men’s players:

Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Beuran Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Aiden Markram,  Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen.

Contracted women’s players:

Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Sinalo Jafta, Ayabonga Khaka, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Masabata Klaas,  Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt, Dane van Niekerk.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here