‘Can’t Wait To Get Started’, Rohit Sharma Prior To The West Indies Series

Rohit Sharma Eagerly Waiting For WI Tour
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

Team India’s star batsman Rohit Sharma is eager to head to play after a three-month absence when he confronts the West Indies during the first One-Day International (ODI) in Ahmedabad. The ODI series will also change during the course of his full-time captaincy tenure after being assigned total white-ball responsibilities. Rohit was resting for the New Zealand Test series, and he missed the entire South Africa trip due to a hamstring problem. Rohit Sharma Eagerly Waiting For WI Tour ‘Can’t-Wait To Get Started’ he said.

As the right-hand hitter has fully recovered from his injury and is in India’s bio bubble for the West Indies series, he appears to be in top form. He captioned a photo of himself in an India shirt, ‘can’t wait to get started.’ It should be remembered that Rohit has previously led India in 10 One-Day Internationals (ODIs), but this would be his first time as a full-time captain.

Rohit Sharma Eagerly Waiting For WI Tour Prior To The West Indies Series:

Rohit Sharma is expected to put up on a stellar performance

India will play 3 one-day internationals (ODIs) versus the West Indies beginning on February 6 in Ahmedabad, followed by 3 Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) in Kolkata. Rohit will captain the squad in the 1st ODI in the unavailability of KL Rahul, who’ll be ready for inclusion in the 2nd ODI.


India will have a busy schedule in 2022, as after hosting the West Indies, they will host Sri Lanka, with the next season of IPL also set to begin in March. With Virat Kohli stepping down as India’s Test captain, Rohit is viewed as the front-runner to take over. But, it needs to be seen whether officials would be attempting to control his workload since he is supposed to put on a stellar performance in the upcoming 2022 T20 World Cup.

India’s ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

Matched Content Ad