Australian Men’s Test Player of the Year award to be renamed after Shane Warne

Big decision of Cricket AUS
Article top

Big decision of Cricket AUS

Heart touching Gesture from Cricket Australia for Shane Warne

The Boxing Day Test at the MCG was the first Test game played at “The King’s” beloved stadium since his shocking passing in March, and the announcement of the award’s renaming took place at the same time. After a remarkable year that included a record 40 wickets in the renowned 2005 Ashes series in England, Warne himself only received the honour once, in 2006. Let us look at the Big decision of Cricket AUS in detail.

Australia’s men’s Test Player of the Year award will be renamed in honor of the late, great Shane Warne. This is the second most prestigious prize for men after Allan Border Medal, while the Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year award is given yearly at the Australian Cricket Awards.

When did the announcement come out?

All this was started before the start of the boxing day test, Warne’s Test cap number 350 will be painted square of the wicket, and both the Australian and South African teams will wear floppy white caps in his honor during the playing of the national song.

The news was revealed on the first day of the Boxing Day Test at Warne’s home ground, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, where he amassed several notable accomplishments, including an Ashes hat-trick and his 700th Test wicket.

Honored for the first time after his death at MCG

The Shane Warne stand at the MCG, which was given a new moniker earlier this year, is hosting its inaugural Test match. Prior to the anthems, a video highlighting Warne’s greatest moments was shown on the big screen.

For the duration of the Test game, his name and the number 350 of the Australian Test cap will be painted on the MCG outfield.

Cricket Australia’s Comments

CA chief executive Nick Hockley said, “As one of Australia’s all-time greats, it is fitting we acknowledge Shane’s extraordinary contribution to Test cricket by naming this award in his honour in perpetuity.”

First Game Since the death of Shane Warne

Shane Warne will be honored with the title of Australian Test Player of the Year. The Boxing Day Test between Australia and South Africa, which was played at Warne’s home stadium, the MCG, for the first time since his passing in March of this year, saw the joint statement from CA and ACA.

Who will win it for the first time after the name change of the award

Like every time thing time around there lot of players who win the award. Players like Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, and Marnus Labuschagne are currently in a contest to win the award in 2023 summer. Whoever it will be they be the first person to win the award after the name change.

Matched Content Ad