BCCI Is Aiming To Add New Franchises, Retain Players And Hold A Mega Auction For The IPL-2022

IPL 2022
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

View below topics in this post

Though the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 season has yet to be concluded, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has begun planning for the 2022 season. The premier T20 league will go through a lot of changes next season, including tournament enlargement. The IPL will expand to ten teams with the addition of two additional franchises. As a result, it will be intriguing to observe what the system’s adjustment will include. Let’s look at IPL 2022 Mega Auction News.

The IPL has previously included more than 8- teams. The 2011 season included ten teams competing for the esteemed title, whereas the next two seasons featured nine teams. In the 2014 season, the competition was limited to 8- teams, and there have been no modifications in the number of teams since then. For the forthcoming season, though, the equations are expected to shift once more.

In addition, the BCCI intends to have a mega auction for the IPL 2022 season, in which all existing teams would be rebuilt. Player retention regulations have officially been decided by the Indian cricket board. Previously, 3 players were permitted to keep their spots, with two right-to-match (RTM) options available.

IPL 2022 Mega Auction News

According to the Times of India, each franchise can keep 4-players ahead of the 2022 auction process. Therefore, a team can keep either 3-Indians and one foreign player or two Indians and as many foreign stars as they like.

The grand tournament for the 2021 competition was set to take place in April-May. The widely-spread COVID-19 virus, however, led BCCI to call a stop to the competition on May 4th. The following matches will now be held in September and October in the UAE. The going will not be easy for many teams, as numerous overseas players are anticipated to withdraw from the event, with the T20 World Cup starting only a few days after the IPL.

Meanwhile, the Rishabh Pant-led DC were dominating the team rankings with six victories in 8- games at the time of the season’s interruption. RCB and CSK each won 5 of their 7- games, while previous champions MI won -4 of them. These 4- teams are the favorites to make the playoffs, and it will be fascinating to see if anything unexpected happens.

Also read: Mohammad Azharuddin Has Been Reinstated As President Of The Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA)

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here