BCCI Announces India’s 16-Man Squad For New Zealand Tests

Kohli and Rahane
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

BCCI has finalized a team of 16 players for the upcoming two-match Test series versus New Zealand. Just like assumed, Ajinkya Rahane will captain the team in the first Test, alongside Cheteshwar Pujara serving as his deputy. Virat Kohli, the regular Test captain who has also been missing the T20I series, will come back and play the 2nd Test in Mumbai and take over the captaincy as well. Here is India’s 16-Man Squad For New Zealand Tests

BCCI is resting the T20I captain, Rohit Sharma, for both Tests in order to limit the workload and bubble stress of the all-format players. In consideration of the approaching South Africa tour, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, have been rested for the Test series. Rishabh Pant has also been left out of the Test squad, with Wriddhiman Saha and KS Bharat taking his place behind the wickets.


Furthermore, the T20I vice-captain, KL Rahul, and off-spinner Ravi Ashwin, who were both included in the T20I team versus New Zealand, have been called up to the Test team. Having spent some time in a bio-bubble since June, these are the only 2 players who will not be getting any rest.

Despite Kohli being left out of the first Test, Shreyas Iyer has been added to the Test team and will almost certainly start at number 4. There have been speculations of Shubman Gill being considered in the middle-order, and it would be interesting to see if the management decides to take that approach. Axar Patel and Jayant Yadav are also included in the team. Ravindra Jadeja returns to play Test cricket.

Due to the absence of Bumrah and Shami, the pace attack remains formidable. Ishant Sharma will head the attack, which will also include Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, and Mohammed Siraj.

India’s Test squad for New Zealand Tests:

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Virat Kohli (Will return for 2nd Test)

Also read: Conway Ruled Out Of T20 WC Final & India Tour With A Broken Hand

Matched Content Ad