HomeSeriesSri Lanka tour of India 2022BCCI announces squad for Sri Lanka series; Rohit Sharma Back in the...

BCCI announces squad for Sri Lanka series; Rohit Sharma Back in the ODI squad

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

India Squad for Sri Lanka Series

Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, and Arshdeep Singh were all included in the ODI & T20I series

India Squad for Sri Lanka Series: The team for Team India’s next three-match ODI & T20i series against Sri Lanka at home was unveiled by the BCCI selection committee on Tuesday, December 27. The likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul were selected for the ODI team. While they won’t play in the three T20Is, they are only available for the ODI series.

For the T20 series, all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been chosen to serve as the skipper Rohit’s backup, with Rishabh Pant being a notable omission. India’s fast bowling options for the ODI series include Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, and Arshdeep Singh. The team’s all-around spinners are Akshar Patel and Washington Sundar, and the inform spinner is Kuldeep Yadav.

Dhawan was Excluded for both ODI & T20I series

Shikhar Dhawan, the veteran India opener, was dropped from the ODI squad as a result of a recent run of poor performance. In late 2022, Dhawan commanded India’s backup teams against South Africa and New Zealand. But he had fallen short in his prime position at the top of the order.

While important players like Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, and Shreyas Iyer are hitters for both teams, Shikhar Dhawan has been dropped. Apart from Rahul, Ishan Kishan is the team’s designated wicketkeeper.

KL Rahul is no more a Vice-Captain

It is also important to note that KL Rahul has been dropped from the Vice-captain role due to consistently performing poorly in recent months. Even though KL Rahul is on the squad for the ODI series, he has dropped from the T20I squad & also stripped of his Vice-captaincy role.

Hitman Returns to the Squad

The BCCI doesn’t want to take any chances given that the Indian skipper has a thumb injury. Which he sustained during the second ODI between India and Bangladesh. Moreover the Australia series is starting in February. The medical staff will evaluate the injury going further. Only if he is 100% will he come back.

Through video conference, Rohit Sharma attended the selection meeting. He won’t be accessible for the T20 series, though. In order to be healthy for the ODI series as well, Rohit must act quickly. Despite being named captain, the decision will be determined by his fitness.

India’s T20 Squad for Sri Lanka Series

Hardik Pandya (C), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India’s ODI Squad for Sri Lanka Series

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

Abhinandan Krishnan
Abhinandan Krishnan
I am a passionate Digital Sports Journalist with a fervent focus on Cricket, football, and UFC. Currently employed at Stumps and Bails Company, I thrive on delivering captivating stories and insightful analysis in the ever-evolving world of sports. With a keen eye for detail and a love for the game, I strive to bring forth engaging content that resonates with sports enthusiasts worldwide. Join me on my journey as we explore the exhilarating realm of athletics, one story at a time.

Most Popular

Recent Comments