BBL 2020: Usman Khawaja Slams The Newly-Introduced Rules

Article top

Australia’s season-campaigner Usman Khawaja is a part of the Sydney Thunder’s squad in the on-going Big Bash League 2020 season. The veteran left-handed batsman recently disapproved the latest rules implied in the Big Bash League. However, Usman Khawaja is not the only Australian who has objected to the additional rules as Shane Watson was amongst the first Aussies to thrash the introductions of the add-ons in his personal blog. Former Australian opener Shane Watson termed the three new rules as “gimmicks”.

BBL 2020: Usman Khawaja thrashes new tournament rules, unsure of the add-on

Cricket Australia launched three new rules in the latest edition of the Big Bash league in their attempt to set different standards in the T20I format. Power Surge, X-factor and Bash Boost are the three new concepts introduced in the league. However, the new rules faced heavy criticism even before the commencement of the league as many cricket experts termed them as an unnecessary addition. Usman Khawaja, in a recent interview, also spoke against the newly-introduced rules. Khawaja stated that BBL should have only introduced one rule in the season to start with.

“One rule change coming into this BBL would’ve been perfect. Three is a lot. We’ve tried super-subs before, it hasn’t really worked. The batting power play will be interesting. We have tried something similar in one-day cricket a few years ago, you had to take a batting power play before the 40th over”.

“There’s not really anything that hasn’t been tested in 50-over cricket, but it’s new for Big Bash. I’m not really sure how it’s going to play out, how the tactics will evolve. No one really knows how to tackle it at the moment.”

“I’ve got a feeling it will be a lot different from the start of the tournament to the end of the tournament. You will see an evolution. You are always looking for that extra edge,” Usman Khawaja said

BBL 2020: Sydney Thunder 2020 full squad

Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson (C), Matthew Gilkes (WK), Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Chris Green, Arjun Nair, Nathan McAndrew, Jonathan Cook, Chris Tremain, Ben Cutting, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Baxter Holt, Adam Milne and Tanveer Sangha.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here