BAN Vs AUS: Mushfiqur Rahim Will Be Out Of T20I Series

Mushfiqur Rahim
Image Source:

In terms of the fact that Mushfiqur Rahim was unable to fulfill a necessary ten-day quarantine, he will miss the next T20I five-game series versus Australia. Bangladesh Cricket Board Chairman of cricket operations Akram Khan stated yesterday that the series starts on 3 August following several discussions and proceedings. Mushfiqur Rahim to miss T20I series.

Mushfiqur Rahim out of Australia T20I series after missing quarantine deadline

The boards of both governments, however, approved pandemic procedures, which required 10-day quarantine. Rahim had notably pulled out, claiming personal reasons, of a Zimbabwe series that is now playing.

As a result, well before starting the Australian series, he had to undergo his quarantine by now. In accordance with the initial quarantine program, the initiative had to commence on 22 July and later preponed to 20 July.

 However, because of their current tours in Zimbabwe and West Indies, neither Bangladesh nor Australia were allowed to land in Dhaka, the location of the series.

Mushfiqur Wanted To Play The Series Unfortunately, He Missed: Akram

The BCB previously asked Rahim to remain in Zimbabwe, but due to his parents getting sick he had to fly early. During the quarantine, the BCB wanted to communicate with CA but it was not agreed by the Boards.

“Mushfiqur wanted to play the series. But he missed the quarantine by a couple of days. His parents are sick, so he had to leave the Zimbabwe tour. But the [10-day] quarantine is part of our agreement with Cricket Australia, so we couldn’t include him. They didn’t agree to Mushfiqur entering quarantine two days after it began. It is disappointing but one can’t do much about these things.” Akram Khan said.

The rest of the Bangladeshi team will proceed directly to hotel quarantine when they arrive in Dhaka from Harare on 27 July. The same goes for game officers, support personnel, and other connected individuals.

The two sides will only be able to prepare for the five-game series for a single day. A group of important players had been selected for the Series by CA. The five T20Is, consecutively in the Dhaka Bangabandhu National Stadium, will be performed on August 3rd, 4th, 6th, 7th, and 9th.

Also Read: SL Penalized For Slow Over-Rate In 2nd ODI Against IND

Matched Content Ad