Azharuddin’s Name Is Added To BCCI’s List Of Working Group

BCCI's List Of Working Group
Image Source:

For the next 2021-22 domestic season, former India captain Mohammad Azharuddin and Jaydev Shah will be in authority. Let’s look at BCCI’s List Of Working Group

BCCI’s List Of Working Group

Shah the current president of the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA), will closely work with Azharuddin and the other five members of the board to assure the competition works successfully. Rohan Jaitley, Yudhvir Singh, Devajit Saikia, Avishek Dalmiya, and Santosh Menon are the remaining members of the five-member committee.

The seven-member committee’s primary objective will be to guarantee that domestic players receive at least a compensation package for the 2020-21 season, which was delayed by COVID-19. Last year, the Ranji season was canceled owing to the virus, leaving the players, particularly those whose livelihood depends on these home competitions, isolated.

In 2020, staging the 13th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) despite the increasing COVID-19 cases effectively closed all domestic tournament doors. Various age-group competitions, such as the Under-19, Under-23, and other women’s events, were cancelled in addition to the Ranji Trophy. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has also come under criticism for failing to hold domestic tournaments, which may have provided some comfort to players during these difficult times.

BCCI has scheduled a complete season of domestic cricket

The BCCI has scheduled a complete season of domestic cricket beginning in September 2021-22, which is a welcome step. The women’s one-day tournament is the first event, and it kicks off the domestic tournament. During the one-year cycle, a total of 2127 games are scheduled to be played, comprising men’s, age-group, and women’s competitions.

Apart from arranging locations and logistical difficulties, all seven members will be tasked with managing all of the matches in a protected bio-bubble atmosphere.

“We will create bio-bubbles,” Ganguly told reporters last week. “We created bubbles for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy last time. We will have to do the same. Without the bubble, cricket cannot happen even for this season.”

Also read: IND Vs SL: Youngsters Will Carry IPL Confidence To Sri Lanka: Bhuvneshwar

Matched Content Ad