Australia Squad For Men’s T20 World Cup Announced

Men's T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source:
Article top

Two months away from T20 World Cup, the Australian Side has announced the squad for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

From the 15-man squad, Aaron Finch was selected as the captain for the Australian side. Tim David’s selection in the squad is surprising and this will be a good chance for Tim David to prove his worth for the national side.

Tim David will also travel to India in September for three T20Is, which will give him and other players must needed game time before the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 starts.

In PSL David scored 278 runs in all the matches which earned him the title of the best finisher in the world. National selector for Australia cricket George Bailey said that “He is a highly gifted, natural ball-striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket, we expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years.”

Aaron Finch would be eying to win the silverware in their home country and make the Australian fans happy and proud. In a recent statement, the skipper stated that “There’s not a huge amount of people who have that ability around the world. The form that he’s been in over the last couple of years has been outstanding as well. He’s someone who just continues to get better and his power first and foremost is really impressive, but the overall package with some handy-off spin-overs and good in the field.”

Selector Bailey further went on to say that “It’s a different journey, there’s no doubt about that which is really exciting. It’s unique for a number of things. It’s really challenging for players to just be franchise cricketers without having a base or a support network. You might see it more and more, but there are some challenges being just a franchise cricketer as well.” Source- espncricinfo

Australia Squad For Men’s T20 World Cup 2022:
Aaron Finch (C), David Warner*, Steven Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Ashton Agar, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood.

Matched Content Ad